We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We were referred to Oakfield Dawros from Tara Farm when we needed a second night's accommodation. We got a great room with the best water pressure in Ireland! Marian the proprietor, embodied the famed Irish warmth and hospitality we had hoped to find on our journey. Oakfield served as a perfect base for touring the Beara Peninsula and an uncharted stop in Gleninchaquin. Marian was so lovely that it was easy to stay another night. Oakfield has several options for breakfast. I chose the salmon and eggs, twice!

Staying at Oakfield was like a home away from home.

UP KERRY!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Globetrottin_Phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

We spent two nights at the b+b, and really liked it. Friendly and helpful people running the place, great breakfast, nice and clean rooms at an affordable price. And a beautiful scenery. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0rwegian_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

We are a family of four and stayed for 2 nights in the family room at Oakfield Bed and Breakfast in June of 2007. Everything about this B&B was just perfect. We were running a bit late and Marian was happy to recommend a great place for dinner (which we chose to eat at the second night of our stay also). We loved our room and the view. Marian was just lovely and we also enjoyed the conversations we had with her. Breakfast was great too. We would most definitely say at Oakfield again should we be fortunate enough to travel back to Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ireland0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We found the Oakfield Bed and Breakfast to be a wonderful place to stay. The hosts went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and satisfied. The physical surroundings are beautiful with plenty of flowers and greenery. Our rooms were kept tidy every day and there were plenty of towels. The dining room is quaint and there are pictures of the host's family, which makes you truly at home. Oakfield also is a prime location to tour Kenmare, the Ring of Kerry, the Skellig Islands, Glengariff/Garnish Islands, Killarney National Park, Valentia Island etc. The hosts are really who made our stay memorable. They were genuinely interested in us and made us feel like part of the family. I would strongly recommend Oakfield B and B for your travels in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y0gagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

Due to a misplaced reservation at another Kenmare Bed and Breakfast, my family was directed to stay at the Oakfield Bed and Breakfast. When we arrived, the proprietor was not there and we were met by her young daughter who showed us to our room. It was not as clean as I like but was satisfactory. Shortly after that, I realized we needed more towels and in looking for the daughter, I found a dirty and disorganized kitchen. I would have looked for another B and B but it was late and we were 5 miles out of Kenmare and I chose to stay. During the night, we realized that the midges (biting gnats) were a problem. We did close our windows but the problem persisted.

We toured Ireland for two weeks and all the other ten bed and breakfasts were more than satisfactory. There are many bed and breakfast accomodations in Kenmare. I will avoid the Oakfield on any return visits.

8  Thank SFKeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 km away
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
0.1 km away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#39 of 61 in Kenmare
84 reviews
1.0 km away
An Bruachan
An Bruachan
#22 of 61 in Kenmare
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
River Meadows B&B
River Meadows B&B
#36 of 61 in Kenmare
11 reviews
0.2 km away
The Twelve Oaks
The Twelve Oaks
#11 of 21 in Kenmare
10 reviews
0.1 km away
The Brass Lantern
The Brass Lantern
#33 of 61 in Kenmare
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: Castletownberehaven Road | Dauros, Kenmare R571, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: ₹ 1,914 - ₹ 3,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing