We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerry & Connie”
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jerry & Connie”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was excellent. Only 4 minutes walk from the centre of Kenmare. Staff were friendly and helpful - they know a lot about walking and we had an excellent walk at Gleninchaquin that we'd never have found without them.
Breakfast was of a very high standard.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner / Propreitor at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thanks for your nice review - glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the nice walks on the Ring of Kerry and Ring of Beara
Hope to see you again on your next trip to Kenmare
Best Wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    159
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
158
489
36
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a family of five with three children aged 17,16and 13. We stayed in the apartment in this hotel and it was fabulous. It is a great size with three tvs and two ensuite bedrooms. I liked the decor and it is tastefully done, not 'on the cheap' like so many Celtic tiger hotels/apartments. The breakfast was delicious with good Americano coffee available. Staff are very helpful and friendly and really want to help. We didn't eat in the hotel but the food in caseys restaurant looked lovely and was always busy, a good sign. We ordered coffee and drinks at the bar and the coffee was served with a delicious home made choc chip cookie. We paid €180 for b and b which was the best value we have had in a while. We stayed another night in a well known hotel in kenmare and paid about three times that amount for two rooms and breakfast. Kenmare is a lovely town with good shops and brook lane hotel makes a trip to ken mare worthwhile

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyroomSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner / Propreitor at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Great review,Delighted you enjoyed our Studio Apartment and our Home-made cookies, hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back
Best Wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

we had higher expectations of this hotel, especially from the commentary on Trip Advisor, but we were disappointed. i wouldn't really call it a boutique hotel, it looks tired now and it's definition of boutique is a feature wall in the bedroom, but the rest of the furniture in the bedroom would not look out of place in a travel lodge.
breakfast was average, we have had much better on our trip around ireland.
Wifi - didn't work except if you sat next to the reception desk, no wifi in the bedrooms.
but what you could not fault were the staff. they were very warm friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. they were really very nice.
in summary it's an ok stay as a base for exploring Kenmare (although the centre is 5 mins walk on foot) but is not a boutique experience at all!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner / Propreitor at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your comments ,Sorry we did not reach your expectations ,but everyone's Interpretation of Boutique is different from Retro style to classical contemporary .Our website has up to date photos and gives a good idea of the style of our Hotel We do provide free internet access in all bedrooms I will pass on your lovely comments about our staff to all the team
Best Wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Really comfortable and welcoming cosy hotel, I arrived quite late and they made me up some real yummy fish and chips! A welcome treat for a wery traveller on business. Break was first class and rooms were very comfy, and bed superb! A hidden trasure in Kerry :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner / Propreitor at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us ,Brook Lane Hotel is great for the Business travellers ,we provide free car parking ,Fab Food and all the rooms have complementary internet access ,we have wi-fi in the public areas
Best Wishes
Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this hotel after reading other reviews and weren't disappointed.Only stayed here for 1 night while house hunting in the area and would happily have stayed longer.
All of the staff we met were friendly and welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. Even though we were on the ground floor facing the road we didn't notice any noise at all.
The food in the Bistro was very good-in fact the portion we had was so large we had to leave some and felt a bit guilty as we felt the staff thought we hadn't enjoyed it! The cooked breakfast, according to my husband, was one of the best he has had. I have to add that it was lovely to ask for very crispy bacon on my pancakes and actually get it and not the watery, greasy, flaccid pink slices that most places serve up!
If we are lucky enough to buy in the area I can see this being our local so looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damnbeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner / Propreitor at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your Lovely review ,We built Brook Lane Hotel 8 years ago and put soundproofing in all the windows ,very easy to do with new windows,we are delighted with the result and it has made the room very comfortable ,Happy house hunting and we hope to see you again soon
Best Wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
2.2 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
952 reviews
0.1 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
18.3 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
20.5 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Property: Brook Lane Hotel
Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,706 - ₹ 17,933
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing