We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
Ranked #25 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This property is a cafe with rooms in the back. Rooms are enough away from the cafe so there is no noise. Rooms are along a hallway, very basic. Room #4, is a very simple accommodation. It was quiet, had adequate shower, sink, toilet, small TV, desk and chair. Mattress was terrible. Walls are thin. I could hear water running. A bleach smell permeated the room and Mary, the very accommodating innkeeper, apologized and said the new-ish cleaner had gone overboard in cleaning!
Amenities were fairly bare. But, it was an inexpensive accommodation so I did not expect much. The uncomfortable bed, however, made a good night sleep impossible.
Breakfast is in the cafe, which is charming. Had minimal food so can't speak to the quality or quantity of breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "good" rooms. Expect minimum, clean, basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

The rooms were nice and very clean. The establishment is new and in very good condition. Mary is a lovely and charming hostess. Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious. To walk down to the centre part of town, we strolled through a beautiful pathway. I really don't want to share this b&b with anyone, I would like to keep it to myself.

Room Tip: I had no concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobteresalinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The accommodations are very nice, very clean with a lot of personal touches by the owner (Mary is great). The cafe is inviting with windows looking out on the garden. It's just what you want to see when you emerge from your room, a little bleary from a night at the pubs. A great selection for the included breakfast but there is also fresh pastries, pies, scones etc. if you want to go off of the "included: menu. The town is a short walk through a trail that crosses a brook, fields and flower covered walls. Very safe as well when the pubs close. (Yes, I like pubs and in Kenmare there are so many pubs and so little time.)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harney556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Great location. Short walk to kenmare. Friendly welcome and very helpful staff. Modern clean room. Comfy bed. Amazing pressure in shower. Pretty gardens. Breakfast was delicious and in a bright conservatory overlooking the garden.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank piscin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I stayed on a Friday night prior a race competition. The manager was extremely helpful and accommodating to my needs before and after the race. I really appreciate the effort she made to make me feel at home.

On the room I felt comfortable and I slept well. It was clean, so it was the bathroom. The cafe has lovely food and cakes to die for, nice coffee too.
Town center is within 5 mins walk.

I can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RayIreland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOLVV, Owner at The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review
We hope to see you next year and fingers crossed already for a better weather!! It sounded like a tough competition

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
2.6 km away
SheenView B&B
SheenView B&B
#28 of 61 in Kenmare
48 reviews
1.0 km away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#16 of 61 in Kenmare
93 reviews
1.3 km away
Neidin House
Neidin House
#35 of 61 in Kenmare
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
O'Shea's Ceol Na Habhann
#14 of 61 in Kenmare
122 reviews
20.9 km away
Laburnum House
Laburnum House
#22 of 61 in Kenmare
27 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brass Lantern
The Brass Lantern
#33 of 61 in Kenmare
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe

Address: Rose Garden Sneem Road | Gortamullen, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: ₹ 4,902 - ₹ 6,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing