We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Only down side was having to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Only down side was having to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Having just read the review below, I can not believe we were staying at the same hotel. In fairness the leisure club could be modernised but it did the job and we spent hours in the huge jacuzzi and the pool, and the therapists were lovely.

On arrival we were shown to our rooms, and despite booking standards they were much bigger than at most hotels iv stayed at. We each had a view over either the bay or the waterfall and it was a struggle to get out of the huge bed in the morning!

On our first night we ate in the resturant. The food was amazing, we were all spoilt for choice. We sat down just before 9pm and it was still very busy and had a great atmosphere. The pianist was fantasic and we spent the entire meal guessing what song he was playing. After diner we sat in the sun lounge with cocktails and the homely atmosphere made it a great time to relax and catch up. Two couples behind us started chatting and became the best of friends!! The painist joined us in the bar and played us through until the early hours of the morning.

Durning our stay we went clay pigeon shooting which was great fun for our mixed abilities as was the horse riding at the local stable. I really recommend this as the best way to see the views. On the way back from the stables we ate at the pancake cottage and then returned for a fantastic (and much needed) massage.

My friends and I will definitley be returning. Its just a shame we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms over look the bay or the waterfall. You cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    157
    77
    40
    12
See reviews for
200
464
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

A freezing cold night was spent at this hotel which still advertises on its in-house TV a chef who left many years ago. Overpriced and overrated, there isnt even a clock in the room to tell you the time. Everything has to be asked for - tea and coffee facilities not provided unless demanded. Freezing cold duck pond sized swimming pool. If you turn up without a pre-booking expect to be ripped off for Euro 200 per night. Not even a light in the sauna - candles had to be provided - a hotel that failed miserably in everyway. At dinner - the food was oiley, I was sent a birthday "surpise" in error! Then I was given someone elses dinner bill. The worst hotel stay we have had in Ireland so far - appauling - I suggest you avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid this place - unless you like being ripped off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked in for a weekend away because we had not had a break for a while. We had heard so much about the hotel, but had never been. We are glad that we did!

Everything was great. Welcome was great, the room was perfect, bar was very nice (the barman Tomas was great) and breakfast in bed really hit the spot. We ate in the restaurant on one night and that too was fab.

All in all it was a great trip and we have already booked in to return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcglough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our third visit to this excellent hotel, thankfully the big freeze of 2010 was not repeated and we were able to enjoy the town and surrounding area.
The staff at this hotel are fabulous and the Christmas lunch is an absolute delight.
We could not fault a single aspect of the stay, the setting is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Absolutely love the Sheen Falls. I spend every Christmas there with my family. The hotel and the setting are gorgeous. The staff are all so lovely. The food is fab. It is expensive but it is such a treat. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.2 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
21.5 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
22.6 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,039 - ₹ 26,725
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing