We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Real Spanish Rustic charm situated in absolutely...”

Review of Casa Verde

Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
The dining room on the terrace with river views
Super kitchen with all mod cons including ice cream maker!
Luxury seating on the terrace
Looking out from the terrace to the rio
Family bathroom
En-suite shower room to main bedroom
Sanlucar looking towards Portugal
Night-time on the Rio
Promenade at riverside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sanlucar de Guadiana, Province of Huelva, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wsasm01
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Spanish Rustic charm situated in absolutely amazing location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ok grab a cuppa and enjoy!

Adam & Linda Age 42/43 – Hobbies- Travelling , Triathlons ,Adventure Races and Good food.

Flights from Glasgow direct- Very cheap & short duration flight - bonus. Car hire at Airport- excellent very well thought out, car hire terminal less than 5 minute walk- . Car hire standard excellent we got a brand new Fiat 500- My wife loved it!
Weather totally roasting! 33 degrees when we arrived at Faro- it got hotter throughout the week!
The weather was just incredible. The directions to Casa Verde were excellent- The motorways have an electronic toll the total cost for our toll fees that w pre-paid was 12 euros - we just paid the car hire firm in advance. The motorways are a total joy! Hardly anyone uses them- amazing! So easy to drive following Val’s directions. As we headed off the motorway towards Casa Verde - I'm a keen triathlete and love cycling long distances- the roads are just incredible! smooth and in excellent condition. We arrived and were shown around the property by Val’s friend- You go on your first instinct! Casa Verde will blow you away- Everything you need is there-very well laid out, tastily decorated and spotless!
For me what made Casa Verde special was the 2 balcony's Each morning I had my fresh squeezed orange juice sitting overlooking Portugal! listening to the wee birds! I'm not a bird watcher however I do get it! So peaceful and very therapeutic! I fell asleep often simply listening to birds chirp away!
We watched the sun go down most nights on the separate roof top balcony – Obviously sitting with a glass or two of fizzy wine! Just simply taking it all in!

Trying not to bore you too much –The outside space is huge-it’s amazing if you have large numbers wishing to barbeque etc You have everything there.

I was in training for a long endurance triathlon race up in Scotland ( Celtman) . Casa Verde gave us the perfect place to chill, visit many small towns -we also drove to Seville for the day. We had Blue skies for the full week. If you have kids or wanting to swim –you can swim on the river within 50m of the property or Simply drive a short distance 10minutes to El Granado – They have an amazing outdoor swimming pool – with a lovely wee café bar and a great grass area to soak in the sun! I used this often as my prep for my race- the cost was 5 euros for 2 adults- the pool was spotless clean.

If your cycling or running- it’s a tough mile uphill to start! the roads are amazing!

We mostly dined within Casa Verde throughout our week as to take advantage of “ This amazing rustic Spanish house” we wanted to sample a Rustic Spanish house and to be honest totally delighted with our experience.

I flew back to Scotland and spent one night at home then travelled up to Torridon- to Val’s Scottish cottage! ( I had a great 2 weeks)

Hope this review is helpful.

Thanks again

Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location,Weather,The fantastic house, The amazing roads, Rustic charm.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelalon...
North Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a truly wonderful place...”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from five days in heaven, what a truly wonderful place Casa Verde and the surrounding area is. The house is amazing, absolutely everything that we could possibly need, great attention to detail and the highest of standards from the minute you walk through the door, this is a very special property indeed, the ever changing views from the lovely terrace looking across the river into Portugal were just the icing on the cake! We had booked Casa Verde for a few days R&R and some good birdwatching, it was perfect for that but there is SO much to do here, we explored the trail which runs along the river, very easy access and the place is teeming with birds (even in November) watching the Azure Winged Magpies and Hoopoe in the orange groves at dusk will keep me going through the cold English winter, I cannot wait to return in spring when the warblers and nightingales will be amazing, obviously the river is a main migration route so Spring and Autumn at Casa Verde will be on my tick list, next trip with more time we will explore the National Park. It wasn't all birding, the walking, nipping across the river into Portugal on the little river taxi for a G&T at sunset, the fish market at Ayamonte, a dip in the Sea and not to be missed the zip wire experience in Sanlucar, you don't need to know anymore about our holiday, or waste anymore time, it's amazing - just book it - you won't be disappointed and it couldn't be easier, the owners have thought of everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location,easy to reach from Faro airport
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin G
Sheringham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect holiday getaway which gave us all time and space to relax and enjoy the wonderful location.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This beautiful house is set in a typical Spanish village with stunning views overlooking the River Guadiana. Our favourite spot was sitting on the shaded terrace looking out over the river, especially picturesque at night, just chilling with a book and a drink. The house is incredibly stylish, spacious and perfect for a family of 5 with 3 teenage girls who each had their own room. If you are looking for a quiet holiday away from the usual crowded spots this ticks all the boxes and more. Wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Gorgeous well equiped villa in beautiful unspoilt area of Spain. A quick boat ride across the Guadiana river takes you to Portugal. Wonderful bird life and cooling breezes off the river make this the most fantastically relaxing place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane R
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated house; a perfect village retreat providing a relaxing glimpse of stress free life by the river.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in a beautiful fisherman’s cottage in North Norfolk for a chilly weekend last November and had the great pleasure of meeting Val, the owner of Casa Verde. Her attention to detail is second to none, and we had high expectations of her house in Spain. We were not disappointed, far from it, Casa Verde blew us away!
We flew into Faro from Leeds Bradford, hired two cars and drove to our Spanish retreat, Sanlucar de Gaudiana, a hassle free drive of just over an hour and arriving at midnight! Jak was there to welcome us with a pre-arranged supper, this in addition to the complimentary wine, olives, oranges, coffee and cake which Val provides for her guests.
Casa Verde is in a perfect position in the village, just a short walk (probably about 50 yards) up a steep narrow street just off the river front where we parked our cars free for the week. The house is large and well set out with two beautifully spacious bedrooms, a single bedroom we called ‘the cave’ and an exciting twin bedroom hidden away in the roof and accessed via stone steps from the outside courtyard, which is filled with huge plants and twinkly lights. It was a great adventure discovering our bedrooms late at night.
With Jak’s help and advice we soon discovered the local bakery and shop and the couple of bars in Sanlucar. We hopped over to Portugal on the river ferry and bought fruit & veg & fresh meat from the market on Saturday morning (we were too late for fish). The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in and everything we needed was there, we all had a go at juicing the oranges for breakfast. The traditional Spanish crockery really made us feel we were in our Spanish home from home.
The best part of Casa Verde for us was the dining area and covered terrace which is at the rear of the property and looks out across the Guadiana river to Alcoutim village, Portugal. Many an evening we lit the lanterns, enjoyed our meal together and relaxed back on the sofas and soaked in the beautiful view, the comings and goings of the boats on the river and the magical, musical mix of local village life below.
Quite bizarrely there happens to be a zip-wire in Sanlucar which glides you from the hills above the village across the river and into Portugal – spanning two countries and differing time zones! Of course we all did it – a truly exhilarating and unique experience.
Jak was invaluable in her local knowledge and encouragement to take charge of the inflatable dinghy which we could use to cross the river. She also arranged for us to join her friends on their boat. We had a wonderful day exploring further up river, seeing Golden Orioles and turtles and having a great time on the water.
We planned to visit Seville during our week but were content to stay local and enjoy walks along the river and into the hills, enjoying the bird life and wild flowers of the countryside and relaxing by the beach area and in the friendly bars. Food and drink was good value; bottled beer 1euro! We felt we were part of village and river life for a short time.
Casa Verde in Sanlucar de Guidiana is a very special place, I want to keep it secret so we can return many times, preserving it’s quiet, relaxing and unspoilt charm - a luxurious stay in a perfect place. Thank you Val, keep it safe for us to enjoy another wonderful holiday as your guests at Casa Verde! Diane & Stuart, Jen & Rob, Patrick & Sara from Selby & Leeds, Yorkshire. 6th June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house and the good quality and attention to detail of everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing