We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE - POOR SERVICE”
Review of Huvafen Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE - POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had been to the W in Maldives, see my review Jan 2011 and were tempted to go there again as it was so good. But we thought that we would try somewhere new so apologies for making comparisons in this review but its only natural.

The immediate plus for HF was that we were taken there by speedboat, 35 minutes, which was far better than the seaplane experience to the W. Sadly on arrival the greeting at the jetty was poor, very disorganised, not addressed by name. Offered a cold towel, nice, but not taken from us when used, odd. Not pretty on arrival, very drab looking. Our Butler, who we only saw on 2 or 3 occasions subsequently, took us by buggy to our room.

The room was fantastic. We took an Ocean Villa and were very pleased to have done so, number 39, perfect for peace and total privacy. Huge space, with separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom, all with doors to access the 2 sundecks and pool overlooking the ocean. Very special.

The resort is a little tired on the outside and beaches not great, very fragmented, unlike the W, where you could easily walk the beach around the island without interruption. That aside, you are in a very special location.

The service really lets this place down, not enough staff and those in situ are clearly not adequately trained. We experienced a number of problems with simple requests and in one case, we left the restuarant Salt as the service was beyond bad. We complained to the Management, who seemed a little concerned, with a small 'l'. We were offered a complimentary dinner at Celcius, which at 9:30 we took and it was fine. We were told that the matter would be looked into and that we would be contacted the following day. This never happened and is a sad reflection of how the place is managed. Too much of a relaxed attitude. This did damage our impression of HF but we put it behind us and enjoyed the rest of the holiday.

UMBar is great, go there. Lovely ambience, comfy chairs and daybeds, entertainment, music. A very cool place, better than the W for this part.

Celcius restaurant was excellent, overlooking the sea, great food not perfect service but they try hard. You can take breakfast here and the great thing about HF is that they have a themed dinner each evening, which makes for interesting dining. The food is excellent, especially the currys.

As said, we had a bad experience at Salt so cannot comment as we did not get past the water and as a consequence did not try Raw.

Don't bother with the Spa. No atmosphere and grubby. The changing rooms are a small and dark with one toilet, shower and sink. Lockers that do not lock.

The pool is great, huge, nice temperature, overlooking the ocean. Very limited poolside service. Including you have to lay your own towels, now that is not 5 star.

They say 'never go back to the same place twice' and whilst very tempted to do so with the W, we are glad to have come here instead, a different and nice experience. The Ocean Villa is perfect and the evenings were also enjoyable.

Not in our mind 5 star as needs some more finesse, such a s the turn-down. If you like biscuits you will be fine. Needs better management, who seem to appear only at night.... at the bar.

If you go there, book the half-board package and take advantage of the great food.
Hopefully the service will improve to make your experience more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa - peaceful and totally private. More expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    76
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
84
575
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Recently stayed here! Beautiful small resort, ideal for couples. Would recommend the beach villa however I can see the water villas being more private as they are further away (not ideal if you don't like walking back and fourth to the main part of the resort but ideal if you are on a special trip and want to retreat to your room). All rooms are well equipped so you may need never to leave! Excellent mini bar, expresso machine, ipod docking machine, beautiful bath and shower area with a gorgeous infinity pool (however I hated walking outside to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and was quite hot). Efficient room service...lovely sushi, however the menu was limited compared to other hotels previously experienced. The sand wasn't as nice as previously experienced at the constance halavali resort and there was less of it...infact was disappearing. Whilst we were there they were trying to reclaim the sand as the water had washed alot away. Was very disappointing when we walked out of our beach villa to see a thick rope and black pipe across our stretch of sand, with a big pipe in the water where they were dredging the sand up. We felt that we had to complain but credit to the hotel and Abdulla in particular, we were given the opportunity to move to another room which was in a better location. The sand wasn't especially clean as I saw a cotton bud and foil wrapping in the sand one day! The beach bungalows weren't very private as other guests kept walking past our villa and I was abit shocked that we were near the pier where the new arrival and departures left from (great if your nosey) but not as tranquil and relaxing as I imagined. On the other side were all the boats where all the deliveries came in! Not ideal for swimming or snorkelling. Snorkelling and swimming is recommended on the other side of the island however there are the bigger dlx bungalows and that side of the island is alot hotter! There are lots of harmless sharks around the island especially black tipped reef and nurse sharks...was abit scary for me. Only went snorkelling once (if nervous organise a guide to go with you around the house reef). Coral wasn't very colourful but there were lots of beautiful fish to see. The underwater room in the spa is an ideal place to see fish and in the evening there are bigger fish and sharks (lots around there). Highly recommend the spa...had the best massage there and the relaxation area and facilities are fantastic. The best restaurant there is called salt...expensive but lovely setting on the water and lovely food. A destination dinner is also recommended (book ahead...very romantic). I rec on the thursday night if you like japanese food to go raw for the tasting menu. The breakfast was my favourite but the buffet was very average in the evening. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Not that I used it but the gym looks amazing set on the water! I recommend watching the sting ray feeding at 6:30pm on sting ray beach and don't forget happy hour at the bar where they make lovely cocktails. Recommend sitting there and watching the sun set! Would definetly recommend this hotel and also recommend visiting another on the same trip as I think it is nice to try other hotels and experience being ont he beach as well as staying in a water villa. This resort is in a good location and not far from the airport by speed boat ( 35mins?) Ideal after a long flight or like us after taking a sea plane from the another resort!

Room Tip: No 1, 2 or 3 beach villa! Away from the welcome pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punkylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The sea water colors here are stunning. I have stayed in a couple of other resorts in Maldives but none of the waters was as colorful and beautiful as Huvafen Fushi. We stayed at a water bungalow which was absolutely amazing, a tad bit expensive but worth every penny you pay. Not a kind of hotel one can go back every year, save all your earnings for this trip and you will not be disappointed. The resort is very clean, beaches are not great but then again Maldives is hardly a beach place. It is all about waters and believe me Huvafen Fushi has got the best. I didn't use the spa but heard some great reviews about it. The food was reasonably good. No complaints on that front either.

Not much of activities on the island as I guess it is essentially designed to be quite for both honeymooners as well as for the couples who have come here to get out of the hustle bustle in the cities. Internet speeds are good, bathrooms are spacious and have a sea view (atleast in the water villa I have stayed). I did go to snorkeling but did not find the corals very interesting in this island. You have a facility to directly get into the sea from the back of your villa and one can snorkel any time.

Overall a great experience and would love to go back but a very very expensive trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpionxylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

NB we actually stayed in Feb 2011 but the form won't go back that far.

We loved HF.

In fact, the only 2 things we weren't so keen on were the food (other than breakfast which was exceptionally good - particularly the juice station where someone will make you your own juice) and the room generator was slightly noisy.

We stayed in a lagoon bungalow and thought it was perfectly laid out. Very roomy, beautiful lagoon views and the outdoor daybed is just fantastic.

Although the lagoon bungalows don't get the sun later in the afternoon (the ocean bungalows get the sunset), we didn't find that a problem. We tended to head down to the pool late afternoon and stay down there for sunset. There was always plenty of space.

We actually preferred the layout of the lagoon bungalows - we weren't flying out until night time so they allowed us to use an ocean bungalow on our last day (another nice touch) - as it felt like there is more outside space, daybed etc.

Talking of the pool, it is probably one of our 2 favourite pools in the world.

We also loved the little extras which the staff do for you - bringing a bit of watermelon with water and a cold towel whilst you're sitting at the pool or the free cocktail at sundown in the bar every night. Lovely touches.

Even the toilets by the restaurant are special.

HF is a very classy place - not stuffy though. I never wear anything other than shorts when on holiday and that wasn't an issue. They do things very, very well.

The reef was fantastic. We saw all the usuals plus had the most amazing experience snorkelling amongst a huge shoal of parrot fish. And a turtle.

We were absolutely gutted to leave and will return one day. If it weren't so expensive we would have been back this year...

Room Tip: Lagoon bungalows get the sun in the morning. Ocean bungalows get the sunset. We would recommend a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We went to Huvafen for the first part of our honeymoon and were overall very satisfied with the place. As it is close to Male airport we took a boat there in about 45 minutes. We had a water villa with plunge pool ( i believe they all do) and we literally felt like we were the only people on the island. Unlike some other Maldivian resorts where you see the room next to you here we didnt as they had managed to cleverly block the sides. THis could also be due to our position on the curve of rooms we were in the middle. The room itself was clean and large and we loved the boardwalk to our room over the lagoon. THere were always schools of fish, large fish and sharks. It was particulary great to see a pack of sharks and large predatory fish hunting the small schools in the shallow lagoon. The island is not for children and is a great place for couples who want lots of private time together. We had a great butler who helped us arrange dinner bookings,

We absolutely loved the guys at the dive school who got us most of the way through our open water course but we were thrwarted by the portugese man of war jelly fish - these nasty creatures littered the beach each morning and made swiiming impossible, after several of the dive masters and people got stung they closed the beaches and ceased any diving activities. We were there in mid july. For the second part of our honeymoon we flew up to the four seasons Landaa Giraavou in the BAA atoll where there were no Jelly fish and was ana amazing place ( SEE MY OTHER REVIEW).

A quick note about the fish here - they are not nearly as plentiful as other places in the maldives - due to its close proximity to male. We flew to BAA atoll where you literally are surrounded by fish when you enter the water.

Our only complaint was the food it wasnt that great - that would be the one thing they really could improve on. THe special nights are not worth it as food average.

A year on we are going back to the maldives and will be staying at the four seasons resort Landaa Giraavou ( which we loved) and going to try the 6 senses as both are in the baa atoll and not near male.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cress e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huvafen Fushi Island
23.5 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,736 reviews
11.2 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,188 reviews
34.4 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,798 reviews
22.9 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,566 reviews
28.5 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huvafen Fushi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi

Property: Huvafen Fushi
Address: North Male Atoll (Formerly PER AQUUM Huvafen Fushi)
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 67,403 - ₹ 1,99,512
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float at infinity's edge. Descend stairs for underground wine. Come out of your shell in the depths of an underwater spa room - the first and only in the world - where colour fish glide past the floor-to-ceiling-windows that reveal the beauty of the reef. Huvafen Fushi, a multi-award winning island resort located only 35 minutes by speedboat from Male, offers 44 naturally modern bungalows and the luxury of 'suites at sea,' traditional Maldivian sailboats fitted out with modern indulgences and the chance to escape and relax in a secluded island paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Huvafen Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi Huvafen Fushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing