We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent business hotel, as well as an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I've just finished a two week stay here (a business trip - this hotel is not a resort hotel). I'm back again, having stayed here for several months earlier this year.

I was very pleasantly surprised to be recognized by name by several hotel employees, even though 6 months had pased since my last visit. The staff here at this hotel are really pleasant, very courteous and very service-oriented.

The HIH is a great hotel for business travellers to Male, Maldives. If you have business to do in the aviation industry, it's only a two minute shuttle ride to the airport, and the free shuttle operates 'on demand' - simply show up at the front entrance and the shuttle will take you to the airport. If you have business to do on the main island of Male, there is a free water-shuttle service (a hotel ferry-boat) operating all day. For sure, it is a lot more pleasant to stay at the HIH on the airport island than it is to stay at any hotel on the main island of Male.

The best place to eat in the hotel is the Pool Bar restaurant. If you are lucky, you can grab a seat at the bar that surrounds the outdoor kitchen area, and the chefs will tell you what is available that day and what they recommend. The Tandoori chef is especially talented, and all the ingredients for the Tandoori menu are set out, on ice, for your review. You can ask the chef questions about the various menu items, and then watch as your meal is cooked in the Tandoori. The quality of the food is superb.

This hotel is expensive - there is no escaping that. Some of the charges, such as US $150 a week for internet and US $6 for a can of Coke are a bit annoying, but if you set these irritations aside, the hotel is generally excellent. The location is great, the property is clean and well-kept, and the staff are extraordinarily helpful and friendly.

This hotel is a great place to stay for lengthy business trips to Maldives. Sadly, guests who just stay for one night when passing through the airport don't have the opportunity to get to know the hotel staff, who are without a doubt the greatest asset the hotel has.

Room Tip: Rooms in the deluxe wing are quieter, although they are also more expensive. Rooms with connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 392 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

I traveled to this hotel with a group of 22 other divers from Houston. We flew for over 24 hours (with layovers) to arrive in Male at mid day. We were exhausted and ready for a shower and comfortable room. This hotel was way more than I expected from reading the reviews here. It is a true resort that has lovely remodeled rooms (we were in the newly remodeled wing). The room was spacious, 2 double beds, limestone floors, marble bath with beautiful bath amentities including loofa pad, bath salts, etc. There is a beautful wood bar with coffee maker, minibar, free coffees and teas. Flat screen TV, work desk with outlets for computer. Our balcony looked out over the small hotel beach with snorkel and swimming area and the city of Male. There are several restruants on site, including a casual poolside outdoor dining area with a diverse menu and great tandori offerings. The pool is huge and beautifully maintained. The lounge chairs are comfortable and ample in number. There is a small well maintained play area for kids, a spa, hairdresser, jewelry shop and gift shop. Room service is available. Dive trips and other excursions are offered and can be arranged, but we did not take advantage of this. The wine selection is quite good and varied considering alcohol is forbidden in the country except in the resorts. Staff were attentive but service is slow. Drinks (even water) are pricey, about $5.50 for water bottle, same price for a glass of tea! Our room rate included breakfast in the rooftop restuarant. It was excellent and a large plentiful buffet with large variety of foods. A made to order omelet bar/pancakes/waffles was wonderful. The view in the morning was lovely. We were fortunuate to stay in this same hotel after our 10 day liveaboard dive trip waiting to return to the US. We arrived fresh and fully able to enjoy the hotel amenities. We never noticed how close it is to the airport, minimal plane noise in the rooms. We had time to take the free water taxi service offered by the hotel on our second visit to Male city. This was very enjoyable and I highly recommend this. We hooked up with a local guide (they hover around the dock and offer services for free, and are paid by the local shops they take you to) This was really enjoyable, be sure to see the fish market and vegetable/fruit market. The Sultan Park is lovely. There is a nice Maldivian museum. A must is to visit the old original mosque in the city. Made from white coral, lovely cemetary on site. Really this hotel rivals a 4 to 5 star resort anywhere. It's only deficiency is the location near the city, so not the best place for a true Maldivian escape. Good place for a short stop over and for pampering before or after a long trip.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the newly remodeled wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBMOMHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The only unique selling point that this hotel has going for it is that it is the only one within walking distance of the Male Airport. In fact, it is the only hotel on the same island as the Male Airport and when you've flown for 4+ hours and arrive at 11 pm, all you want to do is fall asleep, not take a boat to your far-off resort. The very first time we went to the Maldives last year (we've been back twice since then) we spent one very brief night there. Our plane arrived at 11 pm and a friend said that Hulhule was the only place we could spend the night before our seaplane took us off to our destination the next morning.

The hotel was extremely, extremely expensive for what it was. You are paying for the proximity to the airport. I don't think (I hope they don't) anyone stays for more than a night, just long enough to sleep and return to the airport for their next flight.

The hallways to the rooms are all open air and hot. It is an extremely long walk to some of the rooms. Our room was average.

The buffet breakfast is not very good and there was a long wait for a table.

On our subsequent trips to the Maldives we've stayed at Karumba for the first night, another hotel that is only 7 minutes away via boat from the airport.

I wouldn't go back at the current price rate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmejetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have not even visited yet and now trying to cancel because of difficulty in confirming our booking!! Despite originally communicating successfully by email 6+ months ago to agree to book directly with hotel, we were (worryingly) asked to send credit card details in post but following assurances we did so... We have since tried 5 times to ask for confirmation of receipt and booking over the last 2 months - finally I telephoned and they confirmed they had our booking but still no confirmation that cr card details received and secure, and then no email as promised to confirm! Tearing our hair out and now don't trust booking, but don't trust they won't charge if we cancel!! Aarghh!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Had a fabulous Tandoori Meal here, cooked in front of us in a real Tandoor oven by a real Indian Chef.
I enjoyed that very much!
I come to this Hotel often to get a drink in the evenings as there is no alcohol available in Male Island. It's way to expensive, but there is no choice, it's the only place to go :-(

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 1ndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhule Island
2.5 km away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
2.2 km away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hulhumale
68 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 34 in Male
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
83 reviews
6.4 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,794 reviews
3.6 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Address: PO Box 2118, 20030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range: ₹ 20,886 - ₹ 34,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing