We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our 5th trip to the Maldives and was, by far, the most disappointing trip. The island is advertised as 5 star, but is, at best 3 star. Arrival and check-in is elaborate and time consuming. The service (for which you pay 10% on EVERYTHING) is non existent in most departments. We were ignored by bar staff and was only served once we called someone over (with a lot of noise and effort) or placed the order at the bar ourselves. We requested a change to our room and was informed that they will let us know.... we're still waiting to hear. The rooms are very basic, but clean. The furniture old and outdated, NO shampoo, shower caps, body lotion.... The only positive about the room is the sunrise view and effective aircon. The beach towels that were provided were old and dirty. The rooms were cleaned every day, which was good.

The main area (restaurants, bars, etc) were a good 10 minute walk from our room. There were shuttles going up and down regularly, but unless you deliberately stop one of them and ask to be shuttled, they don't even bother greeting or asking to take you. Everything comes at a cost (+10% service fee + 6% GST). gym, internet, tennis, snorkeling..... the list is endless. I can understand that motorised sports activities be charged for, but paying $35 p.p for snorkeling is preposterous.

The dive center staff doesn't seem to care about anything other than making money, with the exception of Alina, all other seems to be bored with diving. We requested a few dive sites that we know are good sites and requests were ignored. They kept returning to the same boring sites.

The main restaurant food was tasty, but lacked variety (during dinner). We requested one particular dish to be repeated and was told that they can do it a la carte at a cost. Most other dishes were repeated a few times during the 14 days, but instead of treating our request as a compliment, they blatantly refused.

The only good services and consistently good food was at the Italian restaurant where we had lunch most afternoons. The staff at the spa was excellent, they were friendly and extremely helpful. However, the back and neck massage I had was extremely rushed and it was hard to relax when you felt that they therapist just want to get this done as soon as possible.

While there, a tsunami warning was issued for the Indian ocean. The staff ran around the island, packing away beach loungers and their equipment, but nobody bothered informing the guests. If we did not switch the TV on, we would have had no idea what was going on. There was no plan communicated to us as to what we are to do should disaster strike.

The island is very close to Male and boat and air traffic is extremely high, causing quite a bit of noise. Snorkeling from the beach was good.

We certainly won't recommend this island to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickeyB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,655 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our 1st trip to maldives and we had high expectations as far as the resort is concerned, as we'd never shelled out more thn 10 grants (in INR ) a night anywhere across the globe, and here we paid more thn double tht amount..
Rooms - We took the beach bunglow, and as soon as we entered the room, we were shocked to see the room... the room was very very basic, with no moisturizer,comb, toothbrush, bathrobe in the bathroom....there weren't any shelves in the wardrobe, no weighing scale or sleepers in the room... on top it all a small CRT tv... i've not come across a CRT in last 5 yrs and here in a so called luxury 5 * resort i find one !!!
Service - The service is horrible, looking at the room we wanted to upgarde it to a water villa(which were very good) so we saw the room, and apart for one all water villas were availaible, so whn we requested for a particular facing room, the staff said that we cant guarantee the same, we thn asked him that "is it booked" ? he replied "no its not "... then we said if its not booked then why cant u give it to us and he said till the time u check in we cant guarantee the room number even if its availaible...we were taken aback and were so disgusted that we dint take the upgrade at all.. Same thing happened when we wanted to change the room, as my husband has arthiritis and he cant walk a lot and our room was very far from reception/dining area.. the staff wasnt helpful enough and we were not even send the golf carts in spite of repetitive requests...
Food - hardly any choice for vegetarians.
Other facilities - if i would want to use the gym/squash etc... u have to pay for it.. ridiculous...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank meghnajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our third trip to this resort, previously visiting in 2002 and 2003.
We flew from Glasgow to Male via Dubai with Emirates and can honestly say the flights lived up to the Emirates reputation.
On arrival in Male we had a wait of approximately 40 mins for our speedboat connection to the island. We only just missed a boat which would have made it slightly quicker re transfer. This was largely due to clearing immigration checks as there were 3 777 sized planes all arriving in close proximity to each other.
On arrival to the resort we were met by staff and quickly ushered to the main bar area where we filled out the appropriate paperwork and were escorted to our beach bungalow. this took no more than 15 mins.
On the 3 occasions we were there we opted form rooms 108 twice and room 107 once. This being the west side of the island we were treated to a beautiful sunset most nights.
This is the quieter side of the island whereas the east side probably boasts a better sandy area looking out onto the water villas.
The main dining area is large and spacious with your table being allocated on arrival for the duration of your stay. Also your waiter is allocated for that time also. We were lucky to have Hassan Habib, a very pleasant chap indeed.
Food was varied and plentiful and were lucky enough to be catered for when we fancied something in particular that was not on the menu. Thanks to Hassan.
As we were on A/I we did not pay a great deal of attention to prices but noticed that water and alcoholic drinks were quite expensive compared to European prices.
Accomodation on beach bungalows was on a whole very good with rooms cleaned every day and turn down service every night. The island was sprayed for insects on a regular basis. Mozzies didn't bother us but after a spray there was an increase of ants on patios, probably trying to escape the insecticide!
We were invited to the speciality seafood restaurant for a returning guests meal which was amazing. Other restaurants available to guests were very nice as well.
My wife had the unfortunate luck to pass out on our second day in the resort, hurting her ankle in the process (sunstroke we think). We had the island's doctor attend her on two separate occasions and he diagnosed a sprained ankle. Not so! On our arrival home we went straight to hospital where it was found to be broken! 13 days hobbling on a broken ankle due to a misdiagnosis was disappointing to say the least. The staff tried their best to accommodate my wife during meal times as she struggled to walk just about anywhere so a big thank you to them.
A special mention to Clayton (management), Christina, Fernando, Mirral, Asif and Suntil for all the help they gave us during our stay.
We were invited on our last day to attend the annual football final which was very enjoyable and greatly appreciated.
Would we go again?
Just booked to go on 11th May 2012 for another two weeks of quiet luxury!
We can only advise people on our own experiences so would say go on try it, it's worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jomoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Effective in every aspect, from pick-up at airport to luggage handling, room assignment, assistance at information counter, and paying for various services.

Stayed for 2 days in beach bungalow. Very big room and big bathroom. Both indoor and outdoor shower (sheltered from the outside by wall).
Good food, although expect to pay at least 30 dollars and up per meal. Some meals are up to 200 dollars per person.
There is an Italian restaurant, a buffet restaurant, Japanese restaurant, local restaurant etc.
Souvenir shop is not of very good quality.

Possibility of playing tennis, table tennis, going to the sauna (why would anyone do that in 30+ degrees C weather?)

There is a very efficient and friendly PADI dive center on the island - the only minus is that they don't sell t-shirts.

Other activities that can be arranged (for extra payment of course) include fishing, snorkelling, island hopping, big game fishing, sunset cocktail on the sea, photo flight by sea plane, and submarine trip.

There are also luxury water villas (on the water) for those who can afford this cozy comfort.
Located on island of 200 by 930 meters.

If you like animals, the island also has impressive peaceful giant fruit bats, interesting slugs, a small tame owl (by dive center), and beautiful biggish lizzards.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopymaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

highly recommended for the desi janta. recommend to carry some chatpata snacks and water so tat u don't end up shelling some multiple dollars for them.

the accommodation is all great , food is awesome specially for non veggies

one great tip - book a MAP-that is ur package which is inclusive of breakfast lunch & dinner.

Room Tip: check whether ur room is actually facing the sea or the artificial made branch of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetmotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
4.3 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,841 reviews
7.7 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,795 reviews
7.2 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,327 reviews
18.4 km away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
1 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Address: 08420
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range: ₹ 12,117 - ₹ 38,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/Lankanfinolhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing