We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
105
107
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
107
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast quiet street complimentary port small hotel boutique hotel sitting room home away from home the ground floor deluxe room minute walk free car parking good size visited sydney guest house on site parking comfortable bed stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed two nights whilst in North Sydney on business.
The location is great and no doubt in its day this must have been a grand home indeed.
Receptionist is charming, I appreciated the warm friendly welcome, the polite housekeeper and even the night watchman was very nice.
Breakfast was adequate although the room is light and airy it lacked any character or atmosphere which wouldn’t take much to improve and would make for a much better experience.
The biggest downfall is in the room. A mishmash of random pieces of furniture, (and not in an eclectic way) made for an odd appearance.
It’s all just too ordinary and too desperately in need of updating.
My room (9), has a very damp musty smell to it.
The worst was in the ensuite, nowhere to put anything, missing grout, poor lighting and then I made the mistake of looking up.
A skylight covered in dust and mildew (see photo), awful.
I had to take antihistamines each night and keep the ensuite door shut.
I’m sure it’s a health and safety issue.
Before staying there I would ask to see the room and refuse to stay in those conditions. Sorry, it’s the truth.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Flaviaetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Many thanks for your frank description of our room 9.

When the original building was a home, that room was in fact an external verandah. That is why its configuration is a bit different. Its shape does not allow it to develop that sort of symmetry that you might be looking for.

The hotel has about 10 bathroom skylights and most of them are well over 10 years old. As a result the outer surfaces are quite marked and stained. However, they should be clean on the inside - so will ensure they are inspected and cleaned if necessary.

We do apologise that your stay was marred by your experience in the bathroom. We will certainly look at the storage/shelving issue and also to ensure the bathroom is not missing any grout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

From the stain glass windows to the wall paper and the comfortable king side bed; everything was simply fabulous. Loved the room and the hotel and the staff were excellent too!

There are beautiful cafes near the north sydney library that you can grab a coffee at; and a early morning walk in winter is very calming to the soul.

I loved the old school interiors and furniture and it’s transported me back to cute hotels in Ireland.

Love our night here and will definitely be back again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Suuu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments.

Regards

Chris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

This is a charming hotel in a great location in North Sydney; easy walking distance to the harbour, restaurants and shops. It’s refreshing to stay in a small hotel within a large city; the service and breakfast provided ensure that you are well-catered for. The hotel represents great value, and I will definitely return next time I’m in Sydney!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank cab-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Front Office Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Many thanks for tour positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Regards
McLaren Hotel Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Hello. I love your hotel. So well priced and great location and free parking is fantastic.
I’ve stayed here many times.
This time I was disappointed.
The room was incredibly basic.
The door was damaged on the inside that looked terrible.
The power point in the bathroom didn’t work.
I must say that blankets are a thing of the last. Not nice to think so many people have slept in that blanket.
Bed spreads are out of the 80’s.

Just a few little thinks can make a big difference.
Lovely hotel and great value otherwise.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Toffee349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi from the McLaren,

Thanks for your review. Hotels consistently get it wrong and it is a great help for us to get reviews that point us in the right direction.

Unfortunately it appears that you did not contact the front office over a number of your concerns. We might have had the opportunity to fix a few immediately.

1: We are checking all the doors to see which one (s) might have some damage and can certainly fix that.
2: We are also working our way through the hotel to see which bathroom power points might be faulty and we can fix that.
3: The blankets are certainly a problem for us. We now use quilts with folded satin stripe white sheets, and we keep blankets as a back up in the cupboard. This is in case people choose not to heat the room and prefer a blanket. Whilst we try to rotate them and keep them clean it is certainly possible you have pulled a blanket out of the cupboard which was not of an acceptable standard. We are going through the cupboards to see if we can find any that should be immediately dry-cleaned. As all rooms have reverse cycle air conditioning the blankets are not used much at all. So clearly in this case we missed it. We apologise for that and will check them out.
4: I am not sure what the bed spread concern is about unless you asked for a king to be split into a twin. In such cases we will use older single bedspreads and if that is the case you are right - the designs are not particularly contemporary. However, none of our rooms have bed spreads. We use a quilt wrapped in white cotton sheets.

Hotels provide overnight accommodation for people. One major common denominator of the business is a relentless cycle of cleaning. We have housekeepers, steam cleaners, laundry workers, tile cleaners, fabric cleaners, fan cleaners, window cleaners working in a constant cycle and from time to time we get it wrong. Our challenge is to try and keep the inevitable mistakes/overlooks etc to a minimum.

We thank you for your review and can confirm that it has triggered action which hopefully you will notice if we are fortunate enough to welcome you back to the hotel

Many thanks

General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

After travelling for nearly 24 hours, we were delighted that we were let into our room before the stated check-in time. The room was spacious and very clean. Good wi-fi reception. We didn't make use of the dining room, so can't comment on that. Nice safe neighborhood to walk in, but not much of a selection of eating places near at hand. Would stay again if every back to Sydney.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose lower floor if mobility a problem.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norahbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, General Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Many thanks for your positive comments concerning the McLaren Hotel.

You are absolutely right about the limits of eateries in downtown North Sydney itself. About the best we have is Tree House, Rengaya,The chinese at Greenwood Plaza, and Greens in St Leonards Park.

However, when next in town treat yourself the the choice around Willoughby Road - a 20 minute walk or short cab ride from the hotel. There are some 75 restaurants on this area including some of our favourites:

Sea Treasure - Chinese
Berempah - Malaysian
Uncle Nguyen - Vietnamese
Malabar - Indian
Sapporo - Japanese
Fratelli Fresh - Italian

Closer still are some great restaurants in MacMahons Point with the iconic Sails Restaurant right on the water looking east at the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.

Look forward to your next visit.

Cheers

McLaren Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews