We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday lunch”
Review of The Goat Inn

The Goat Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Goat Inn is a traditional country restaurant, that prides itself in serving the best quality home cooked food alongside real ales and an extensive winelist. Sunday lunches served every week, function room available for special occasions or events, children welcome. We also have a beer garden for you to enjoy the sunshine.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous 3 course meal all fresh produce and mouth watering puddings x lovely gem will definitely be going again and would recommend anyone to go yum yum

Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Goat-Inn, Manager at The Goat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Ruth F,

We are so happy you enjoyed your Easter Sunday meals, thank you for leaving us a great review.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Connor
The Goat Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

During our stay in Garndolbenmaen we visited the Goat several times for an early drink. Having perused the menu and watched some of the food passing by we decided to book in for our last night. We were looking forward to it all day and we were absolutely not disappointed! We shared a starter of prawns, calamari chicken garlic bread and dips. All freshly cooked and so tasty. This was followed by our main courses of half a duck with a rich sweet morello cherry sauce, accompanied by new potatoes and a selection of veg. Unbelievably tasty and plentiful. We also had the amazingly rich and tasty steak and Guinness pie with perfect non greasy chips and a lamb shank in a thick sauce with creamy mash. I’m almost certain the sweet menu was just as spectacular as the rest of the food but there was no way we could fit in any more food. All in all one of the best dining experiences we have had in a long time. The service was excellent with lovely friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble and they made us extremely welcome. We will definitely be returning to the Goat Inn .

Thank Lynd301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Goat-Inn, Manager at The Goat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Lynd301,

Thank you so much for such a great review of your experience at the The Goat Inn, we're so happy you enjoyed your meals and service whilst you were here and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Connor
The Goat Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Driving around the across this inn. We arrived before 5.30 however decided to wait until it opened. Was well worth the wait. The bar man did not like my comment hoping the Ireland would beat Wales in the rugby the next day. Food was hot and quickly served. For being such an isolated location it appeared to be very busy on a Friday evening guess booking would be recommended. Suggest you check the opening hours.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Goat-Inn, Manager at The Goat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for taking your time to write us a great review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again if you're in the area.

Kind Regards

Gwenan Hughes
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

One of the best pubs I have eaten in for some time. Run by lovely folks with a real welcoming ambience. The pub looks nice and it is. The menu is not overly long but there are plenty of choices and daily specials. We went four times last week whilst on holiday and can recommend the Steak and Guinness Pie. As I had the Cottage pie on 3/4 nights I guess it was good! Huge portions of veg too. Meal and drinks for 4 expect to pay 60-70£ depending on whether dessert is eaten.

Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Goat-Inn, Manager at The Goat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a great review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again if you're in the area.

Kind Regards

Gwenan Hughes
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Fabulous half duck with Morello cherry sauce. Food excellent, plates hot and vegetables and chips first class. Service good highly recommended. Fine value as well at £15.95.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Goat-Inn, Manager at The Goat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a great review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your food and service. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gwenan Hughes
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Goat Inn also viewed

 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Goat Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing