We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 136
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Bed & Breakfast(Ripon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Coach House(North Stainley)
US$ 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorhouse(Kirkby Malzeard)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
1,234
198
85
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,234
198
85
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomcookery schoolbirds of preydeer parkterrace restaurantsamuels restaurantturret suitetasting menuafternoon teasloe ginstately homebradford roomboot roommorning roomwalled gardenclay pigeon shootingcream tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was our second visit to the hotel and this time was just as good as we had remembered; we stayed in the Castle Howard room which had lovely views of the aviary and the lake/deer beyond. The walks around the lakes are beautiful and peaceful, which is pretty much the theme for the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs9915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Masham and the Dales will always be beautiful. The Hotel is in a great setting and the grounds are splendid.
Our room was the Masham, great view of the deer, but looked tired. The settee was too small for two people to relax on and the televion choice and picture quality were dire.
Although we got a good deal to stay 1 night, for B&B, the bar meal was £70 and although good quality, even three courses did not fill us. Breakfast was basic, one piece of everything. We have stayed in better Hotels than this and at a fraction of the cost.
The Hotel was deviod of atmosphere. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlebeHG4, Owner at Swinton Park Country Club and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Swinton Park, following your recent stay with us. Clearly we are very disappointed to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Following your conversation with our General Manager, I understand that our style of hotel is not to your liking, which is a cause of regret. We have now taken steps to ensure that the television channels and reception in the Masham room are in full working order, and have checked the furnishings to ensure that the room is meeting the standards of a quality country house hotel such as ours.
Kind regards
Felicity Cunliffe-Lister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Spent 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Staff very helpful. Room OK (but we did have the 2nd lowest price). Huge grounds that make for good walks if you only want to do up to a couple of hours, and the moors for anyhing over that.
Food excellent. Small confusion about which room we had booked, soon rectified by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I booked 7 days there for a big family group. I was a bit nervous as 7 days can be a long time in a hotel with my family! We had a truly wonderful time - the setting is spectacular. and end May the gardens were in full bloom. It was the most relaxing stay any where.

Also I had some initial concerns about taking my three year old twins to a beautiful stately home. The staff there were very friendly and made us all feel very welcome. Even though it is beautiful inside, it feels lived in and comfortable. On fine days we walked through the beautiful grounds and played on the lawn. On rainy days we used the well equipped toy room that was full of puzzles and books. Also there is a mud room full of wellies and Barbour jackets so were were covered for the British Summer!

The food was delicious - most was local, and it was very seasonal. We ate in the beautiful dining room a few times (without children), and we also used the bar which has a good menu too. Loved the way the menu changed a few dishes every day so we did not get bored with the choice that week.

Loved that the hotel was concerned about their environmental footprint, and doing something about it- they had their own bottled water, they used wood chips to heat the place.

We had a magical week and were made to feel very welcome and indulged!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This was HEAVEN! This was, without a doubt, the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in, with the plushest room and the most beguiling grounds I have every enjoyed.

The rooms have every amenity (e.g.,scotch and soda for a wee nocturnal nip; Alka-Seltzer for post-nip, and eye cream for a rough morning). There was even a fireplace in the bathroom (to match the one in the bedroom)!

If you ever wondered what it would be like to be a member of the British Royal Family for a night (or two), stay here in this estate. The breakfast is served in a ballroom that the Queen would envy and there's cricket and polo on the grounds. There's falconry and fishing, billiards and table tennis and spa services and a cooking school and model boats and....At dusk, we heard sheep baahing outside our windows from the pastures on the other side of the lake (one of the four). I could go on and on....

BTW, bring your running shoes to enjoy the far reaches of this 20,000 acre hotel. The grounds at this 300 year old estate are as wonderful as the hotel itself. We let our kids roam free. No one in our family wanted to leave...ever.

This is a lifetime experience to be savoured. Don't try to see sights in York from here. (It's really too far to enjoy a drive there and back in a day, given the dicey English roads.) Just stay and play croquet, or retire to the drawing room for tea...and bliss out.

This was an expensive indulgence, but the experience was absolutely incredible, in every detail....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews