We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great 3 night stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Den

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Martin S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great 3 night stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely small apartment. Everything was clean and tidy, and host, Sharon very welcoming (home made cakes etc on arrival), friendly and helpful. The apartment is small but contains everything you need and the photos are a good representation. Lack of oven may be a problem for longer stays. Good pub, Barley Mow, in next village, which is a 10/15 minute walk, but you will need a touch. Recommended for short stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but beautifully formed”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

"Small but beautifully formed", could be one way of describing The Hay Loft. But that would not do justice to the amazing hospitality of the dedicated and entertaing host, Sharon - a real character. It had all the facilities that we needed for our 3 days stay, was clean and comfortable, and very reasonably priced. OK, you may have to shuffle the armchairs around to gain a bit of space now and again but, hey, what do expect if you have seen it on the website and read the blurb? Get talking to Sharon and it more than makes up for any minor inconvenience. She is warm, friendly and funny.

Returning weary from a long walk Sharon plyed us with doorstop slices of fresh bread, homemade rasberry jam - still warm from the pan -and a pot of tea whilst we sat at her picnic table overlooking the sheep pasture dipping gently away from the house to the wooded hill beyond; whilst her 4 year old granddaughter, Daisy, acted as doctor to her dolls, and spanniel "Dave" was playfighting with Daisy's Andrex lookalike puppy "Stan" under the table. No poncy names uwp 'ere luv.

We had an excellent meal at the characterful King's Head pub, after a bit of a yomp up, over and down a very steep hill separating The Hay Loft from Bonsall village . Would not fancy walking there, or back, in the dark, though. We regret not having had time or energy to visit the BarleyMow - famous for both its food and entertainment - and, apparently, an excellent the village cafe converted from a pub. We were happy to leave those until our next visit.

If you are looking for a bijou, quiet, rural retreat in a beautiful part of the country and want some first class hospitality - with a few laughs - then The Hay Den could be the place for you. Like us, you may also be unable to resist giving Sharon a hug when you leave.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenB1982
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect size and location”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this property on a whim a week before travelling and it's one of the best holidays we have had. The pictures do the place justice and we knew the size of the property before arriving, any questions we did have were answered over the phone by Sharon before arriving. Sharon was helpful and explained in detail what the lodge contained and what we needed to bring (which was very little).
Yes it's small, which is clearly indicated in the pictures, but it was very clean and well presented, just perfect for us to use as a base to explore the Peak District. We had no trouble parking, there is adequate space to park, unload the car and for others to get by. Both of us were able to prepare food and shower without bumping into each other, and the heating system is good and keeps the cosy feel. The views across the valley are amazing and there is a small seating area behind the lodge and secluded from the main house where you can enjoy the view in peace.
The owner was a joy to rent with from the booking all the way through to leaving. Sharon answered all questions over the phone and upon arriving had prepared a welcome tray of fairy cakes and fresh coffee. Sharon also offered advice on things to do in the local area, which led to us having an amazing walk along Monsal Dale. But all of this was done without being intrusive, Sharon struck a good balance.
All in all, this was a great place to stay and Sharon was a lovely host. We have struck on a gem and will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tombarnol...
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful views”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This recently renovated outbuilding is small but very well thought out and is perfect for a couple staying in the area. The views from your own patio are wonderful and the owner's dog will soon make friends with you!
Sharon was very helpful in directing us to all the local amenities. The local pub deserves special mention for a very memorable evening (they have a band on every Saturday night) with fantastic music, food and beer.
We will be going back!
And Sharon - we bought the caravan on your advice!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissMorts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect get away!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We did not get to meet Sharon until the second day of our stay, however, all of her homely touches made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived (including the scrumptious plate of cakes).

The property is ideal for short stays and well equipped for cyclists. It is ideally located for walking and cycling routes but would recommend having a car. It is walking distance from the local pub that does great home made meals and live music. Thoroughly enjoyed our get away and would recommend to anybody seeking a bit of countryside air.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing