We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical memories for a 50th Golden Wedding...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Highfield

Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Stunning views towards Riber Castle Sunny South facing location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Highfield Group Holiday Accommodation
Stunning views towards Riber Castle
Sunny South facing location
Fabulous Garden Room
Garden Room with far reaching views
Fantastic entertaining space
Fully equipped Kitchen, with double oven RangeMaster
Sitting Room with large stone open fire and great views
Relaxing Snug, with open log fire and beautiful views
En suite Family Room
Family Room 2
Family Room 4
Twin Room
Shower room with double power shower
Bathroom, with Roll top bath and overhead shower
Outdoor covered eating area
Outdoor dining area with Patio heater and views over the Derwent Valley
Hot tub hire is available as an optional extra - please enquire
Hot tub hire is available all year round as an optional extra - please enquire
Beautiful gardens for entertaining
Amazing views over Matlock
Highfield - The perfect place for any group celebration... amazing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairehel...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Magical memories for a 50th Golden Wedding Anniversay Party weekend”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here last weekend and had the most fun memorable weekend.
This was all made possible buy the amazing space and beautiful view of Highfield House.
The owner has thought of everything and her beautiful house had lovely touches all around to make our weekend more special, hearts everywhere.
We'll be coming back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, stunning decor”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Highfield - the house itself has lots of character and is very homely. The owner has taken the time to keep many of the original features and has decorated/furnished the house to a very high standard. There were many additional little touches which made our stay more special such as fresh flowers in most rooms and a bottle of champagne to welcome us as the house was rented for a special birthday occasion.
The view from the garden is something to be seen to be believed - the house overlooks Matlock and the surrounding hills and countryside, along with Ribby Castle on one of the hilltops. The weather wasn't great which prevented us from sitting outside most of the time - not a grumble about the house, this was just frustrating as we wanted to enjoy the view!
Very spacious - Wi-Fi, Sky Movies, X-Box, Snooker table - these were just some of the things which are included - the whole family had a great time and we would definitely look to book the property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and furnishings
Liked least: The weather in Matlock
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiejame...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is so AMAZING
the location, style and décor - words cannot describe
We visited for my Daughter's 16th surprise Birthday weekend (and I did not want to leave)
The house is Beautiful with everything and more that you can need for your stay there.
We visited Alton Towers and also Wild Park for Paintballing and Quad biking.

The views are breath-taking and I would love to return when the sun is shining to enjoy the garden.

We hired a hot tub which was delivered and ready for use on our arrival.

I recommend this property for any large group wanting to enjoy Matlock and the surrounding areas.

Each individual person had their own space and private bedroom - and at times you could loose your barring's, the house is so spacious
Thank you Highfield for making our weekend so special it certainly was a Birthday we all will not forget - I will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RooneyRum...
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A weekend to remember”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked Highfield for a long weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday. A fabulous house & great company made this a weekend I will never forget. Oh and the weather was ok too. Many thanks to Tracey for great communication throughout the booking process and beyond!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & cosy feel
Liked least: walking back up the hill
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend in a beautiful House!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed at Highfield to celebrate Mum's 60th. With 17 of us staying at the house,(3 children, 1 baby) it was perfect and very welcoming! Very clean throughout with plenty of space and amazing views of Matlock. The house finished to an excellent standard with everything we could have asked for. Simply cannot fault and would recommend . Thank you for a perfect weekend!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;