We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Residence for a Group Holiday”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gradlip45
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Residence for a Group Holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a group of seventeen Suffolk bellringers on a weeks ringing holiday in Derbyshire. We all get on well; some are married some single and Castle Cliffe was the ideal plece to stay. We were so impressed with its facilities, decorative order and comfort. On our first morning we were all in the kitchen making our individual breakfasts and there were enough facilities and room for us to achieve this without any problems or much waiting. The dining room was ideal for communal eating and the lounge areas just so comfortable. The bedrooms were excellent, most with en-suite facilities and views and there was ample car parking for our vehicles. This is an ideal choice for a group event.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike l
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place for group in peaks”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed for a wedding weekend at Hassop hall nearby.
Great house for a large group, well provisioned kitchen and great gardens.
Neil was excellent in settling us in and cannot fault communication.
All guests keen to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathmonst...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great comfortable house, exactly as in photos, beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Set in a great location and large enough to be comfortable for a big party of friends. Nothing missing. Nice additional touches. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate N
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large group gathering!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend Castle Cliffe highly enough for the venue for a large group gathering. We were 11 adults and 10 kids (ages 1-5) and it was perfect for everyone. Masses of space (indoors and outside), stunning views and beautifully presented. The owners were very helpful and available over the weekend had we needed them. We would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
1 review
“Perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We booked Castle Cliffe for a hen weekend for 16 ladies. Communication with the owners was really easy and all of our questions were answered, they were really helpful.
On arrival the owners were there to greet us and show us what we needed to know. There were beautiful fresh flowers and homemade brownies which were such a lovely welcome!
The living accommodation was ample for our needs. Loads of seating in nice big airy rooms. We had everything we needed, the cupboards were well stocked with more than enough crockery etc. We had plenty of hot water, oven space, fridge space... It's a great property for large groups.
It didn't matter which side of the house you stayed on, all the views were amazing.
There is a hotel right over the road which we didn't use but would have been very handy had we not already made plans for the weekend.
On Saturday we went into Bakewell which was only about 10 minutes away and a lovely little town with plenty of shops, cafes and bars.
On Saturday evening we took a bus into Sheffield. Great night out and the journey only took 35 minutes.
There is plenty of parking at the property and a great big field attached which in better weather could have come in really useful for activities.

I'd thoroughly recommend Castle Cliffe. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore the beautiful countryside surrounding it!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing