We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, amazing house.”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
liz s
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, amazing house.”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

21 of us stayed at Castle Cliffe for a long girly weekend. Beautiful views and such a lovely house. We couldn't of wanted more. The owners were so helpful with our plans and we used Scoffs a local catering company for some scrummy food. I think we are already planning a repeat trip next year. Would recommend this house toanyone it has everything you need . Thanks for a lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinjc
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful yet comfortable house”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Every room has a fantastic view.
Plenty of bathrooms and bed combinations for large groups.
Sociable cosy set up in lounge. Huge dining table. Pretty garden.
Perfect for large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harryh0rn...
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for large group”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A gathering for family for a special celebration.
House was very well equipped and very spacious.
We had very good weather and the garden was an added bonus!
Would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinthem...
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb for a large party”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We held an 80th birthday family celebration here with 22 people and 2 babies with ages ranging from 80 to a few months and we all thought this was a wonderful place. The facilities are comprehensive with plenty of space for everyone, excellent cooking facilities, comfortable beds, a dining table that seats 22 comfortably and an ideal location for walking and visiting the attractions of the Derbyshire Dales. If you don't want to self-cater there is a hotel with restaurant across the road, the excellent Packhorse Inn half a mile away or the owners can recommend a catering company that will deliver meals. The owners are friendly and relaxed and we were able to visit before our holiday to plan bedroom arrangements and look at the facilities.
I cannot recommend this place too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities and the location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferne M
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a 50th birthday party”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a 50th Birthday celebration at Caste Cliffe with our friends and it could not have been better. The house is lovely. Lots of space and really homely. (The photographs do not do it justice). All the bedrooms are a good size, comfortable and well equipped. The personal touches make it a home from home and the fresh flowers and home made brownies to welcome us were a lovely touch. The house did not take long to warm up and was very toasty all week. The views are outstanding and the proximity to the pub and good walks makes for an ideal location. We would definitely hire the house again when the occasion arises.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing