We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb for a large party”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robinthem...
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb for a large party”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We held an 80th birthday family celebration here with 22 people and 2 babies with ages ranging from 80 to a few months and we all thought this was a wonderful place. The facilities are comprehensive with plenty of space for everyone, excellent cooking facilities, comfortable beds, a dining table that seats 22 comfortably and an ideal location for walking and visiting the attractions of the Derbyshire Dales. If you don't want to self-cater there is a hotel with restaurant across the road, the excellent Packhorse Inn half a mile away or the owners can recommend a catering company that will deliver meals. The owners are friendly and relaxed and we were able to visit before our holiday to plan bedroom arrangements and look at the facilities.
I cannot recommend this place too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the facilities and the location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferne M
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a 50th birthday party”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a 50th Birthday celebration at Caste Cliffe with our friends and it could not have been better. The house is lovely. Lots of space and really homely. (The photographs do not do it justice). All the bedrooms are a good size, comfortable and well equipped. The personal touches make it a home from home and the fresh flowers and home made brownies to welcome us were a lovely touch. The house did not take long to warm up and was very toasty all week. The views are outstanding and the proximity to the pub and good walks makes for an ideal location. We would definitely hire the house again when the occasion arises.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbm99
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect christmassy getaway with friends”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed at Castle Cliffe along with a large group of friends/work colleagues for the weekend of 13/14th December to celebrate finishing exams and we really couldn't have asked for more.

We found the house with no real issues and were greeted by Jackie who showed us in and pointed out some yummy homemade cakes for us to enjoy in front of the fire which went down a treat.

We were all thrilled with our rooms (especially the gorgeous roll-top bath in room 4 which was a real luxury!), the beds were all very comfortable and the house was surprisingly cosy for a big victorian property! Possibly the best surprise was, after arriving in the dark, when we all woke up on Saturday morning every single person came down to breakfast raving about the spectacular views out of their bedrooms on all sides of the house!

Kitchen/utilities wise we had everything we needed to easily cater for the big group and the two dishwashers meant we didn't have to waste our weekend washing up which was great.

The dining room was beautiful too and we loved the effort the owners had gone to with the xmas decorations - especially the quirky idea of hanging 'xmas wishes' on present tags and hanging them on the tree for the next set of guests to see.

In terms of activities we drove to Chatsworth on the first day (an easy 10-15 minute drive) and on the Sunday went for a walk straight from the house down the lovely Monsal Dale! We also ate at both the Packhorse Inn (down the road in Little Longstone) and the Stable Bar across the road which both served up hearty and tasty pub food enjoyed by everyone!

As the organiser I was worried about how the weekend would go but everyone was devastated to be leaving on the Monday and, just a week later, everyone is already talking about booking again/ making it an annual trip!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn D
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, well equipped, comfortable house in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This house was perfect for our annual Christmas gathering of 22, both adults and children. Each room has a beautiful view and the beds were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water and the wood burners made the house even more snug and cosy. Perfect base for exploring the local area on foot or by bike. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was plenty of space for our large group.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warringto...
warrington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were a group of 21 over 6 families....the rooms are flexible enough so that they work for our group. Rooms are clean, most with TVs (good for kids and X factor) and most are ensuite.

Downstairs is spacious with a large kitchen with an aga (great potatoes cooked in it) a large dining area, and plenty of seating, even a separate lounge with games for the kids.

Location was great, opposite a pub, and the Monsal Trail for walks out, and also 5 minutes from Bakewell.

We ordered a shopping delivery from tesco which made life easier.

The owners met us to show us what we needed to know, and also gave us some home made brownies, but the added touch of milk tea & coffee were available until ours arrived.

The property is perfect for a large group of friends / family get together, we're booking again for next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing