We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its brilliant at the Bakery”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Janetsybi...
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Its brilliant at the Bakery”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Youlgrave excellent centre for walks in Lathkill and Bradford Dale. Three pubs, the Farmyard Inn excellent on pie night but I think their portions cater for giants. The Barn has all those useful extras provided by the friendly knowledgeable hosts; tissues, tea, coffee milk, kitchen foil, even flour. Well stocked butchers shop next door. Very clean and comfortable. Only problem is entrance very narrow and difficult for large cars. We parked safely on Church Street 100 yards away and so avoided adding to the gouges in the entrance brick work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and sleeping above an old MG
Liked least: Nightmare entrance for large cars
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.It is much appreciated.
As you have found, The Barn @ The Old Bakery is ideally placed to walk from the door to explore the wonderful Bradford and Lathkill dales. it is also an excellent base to explore the wider Peak District National Park.
We are blessed with three pubs in the village serving good quality home cooked food. The Butchers shop provides an excellent service to our guests, with any of those forgotten extras. Our hospitality pack is designed to welcome our guests to the property.
The entrance into the communal yard, is narrow if you have a large car. But we get our large 4 x 4 through quite easily without incident. Equally as you have found there is ample very safe parking on Church Street and Main Street.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patnmo
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, warm, spotless, great location”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just the place for a perfect break. Great location for exploring the Peak District. The Barn is very clean and tidy in a peaceful village. Well equipt and modern. Helpful owners. Definitely recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your high standards. You rightly point out that the accommodation offers an excellent base, from which to explore the beautiful Peak District national Park. The village is a friendly place with 3 excellent pubs and two good shops catering for our guests needs. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTHONY G
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Class accomodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This property is in a great location being in a small village with 3 great pubs(we ate at the Farmyard Inn which was top class). There are numerous places to visit nearby, we loved visiting Eyam, Bolsover Castle and Hardwick Hall as well as visiting the Food Festival in Bakewell. The surrounding countryside is stunning, this is the first time we have visited the Peak District and were knocked over by how beautiful it is. The property is very comfortable, the owners have put a lot of thought into making their guests feel at home, it has everything a couple would need. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peace & Quiet, location.
Liked least: The shower was a bit of a damp squib
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that your first visit to the Peak District National Park was one that left you wanting more. It's a great place to live and has so much to offer our guests. You obviously enjoyed the National Trust properties within the area, which really are 'Top Draw' properties. We were glad to hear that you managed to see the Food Festival in Bakewell.
The Barn @ The Old Bakery has been furnished to ensure our guests have a relaxed 'home from home experience' and leave refreshed. We hope to see you again, when you continue your exploration of the Peak Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thejacks0...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering cottage in great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights from Easter Sunday in this delightful self-catering cottage in the pretty village of Youlgreave. The cottage is really well equipped and is cosy and warm. Plenty of hot water, comfy bed and great view of the stars at night as an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery comfortable, warm and to your liking.
We have tried to ensure that our guests are made welcome and feel 'at home' in the accommodation.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dottom21
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely stay in a delightful little cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the Barn in the last week of March and had a lovely time in this delightful little cottage which was well equipped with all amenities,exceptionally clean and furnished to a high standard. The village of Youlgrave is interesting and there are many walks in the area which are available from the doorstep and highlighted in a book of walks along with an Ordinance Survey map at the cottage. There are also lots of places to visit nearby including Bakewell,Chatsworth House and Matlock to name a few and the proprietors are good with details of things to see and do in the area. There is an excellent Butcher/Baker in the village and three good pubs that all serve food The only issue for us was that there was nowhere to get daily papers as the Post Office orders them on a weekly basis!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery. We have tried to ensure that our guests expectations are met, if not exceeded. As you point out the accommodation offers walking from the door into the beautiful Peak District National Park.
The village of Youlgrave offers all the amenities our guests require, 3 pubs serving home cooked food, Our Village Butcher famed for his pies as well as a great range of provisions. The Post Office, acts as a general store and Newsagent.
We hope to see you again, in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing