We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming holiday home in picturesque Bakewell.”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cam M
1 review
“Charming holiday home in picturesque Bakewell.”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at this delightful, family friendly spacious characterful house in the picturesque town of Bakewell. It is a short walk from the town and shops of this very pretty town. We didn't need to use the car all weekend as there are lots of easily accessible walks nearby. The house is spacious with a gorgeous large vaulted ceiling in the living room which gives it a lovely airy feel. The kitchen is a sit in kitchen with all mod cons, plenty of room and well equipped. The garden is charming, reached by a steep pathway of steps to a lovely seated area with a terraced garden. We will definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Really pleased that you enjoyed your time there, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavoRutla...
Rutland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Eight of us stayed here at the beginning of June for a long weekend. Two problems with this cottage -,firstly it's absolutely right on the main road, so it's pretty noisy and there's a streetlight outside which shines brightly into one of the bedrooms and secondly and most importantly, whilst it was superficially clean, it really needed a thorough deep clean of the bathrooms, Windows, curtains, carpets etc. The carpet and net curtain in our room were very grubby. Our friends found a pair of used tights under their bed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Hi Sarah, Gosh what a shock to receive this nearly 3 months after your stay, there was no hint of complaint in our emails at the time, I am so sorry to hear of them now. We take guests comments very seriously and always learn from them. In 9 years, we haven't had any complaints regarding the street light, but I am changing the blind following your comment. We don't have any carpets or curtains (apart from organza) in the house - just rugs and blinds - in order to ensure cleanliness. The organza curtain in your room was brand new - perhaps I have chosen the wrong shade. I am so sorry that on reflection you found the house not up to standard. We will continue to ensure our regular thorough clean is kept on its toes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Victoria Cottage in Bakewell is a most relaxing and enjoyable place, the ideal base for our photography tour in the Peak District.
The house is beautiful and has a fresh homely feel. Comfortable beds and a great spacious lounge are complemented by a well designed and superbly equipped kitchen.
We had some magic moments in the charming terrace garden with pergola and a stunning view.
Great location with all shops, pubs etc just a minute down the road, trails to the green hills on the door step and plenty of buses that take you anywhere in the area and out.
You don’t necessarily need a car to discover the Peak District.

A unique place, highly recommendable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the house. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you so much! Delighted you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you so much, I am delighted you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 447
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing