We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family weekend away”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will F
1 review
“Lovely family weekend away ”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a very lovely weekend in Victoria Cottage. The cottage is very well equipped and furnished to a very good standard, we loved the large living room in particular. It was a little cold to spend time in the garden but was very nice all the same! My father who has slight mobility issues would have struggled using the steps to the garden, however had no other such problems in the interior of the cottage.

We were a party of 3 couples, two of whom with children. The house layout and variety of twin and double rooms and number of bathrooms was ideal for us, and gave each couple a good amount of privacy if needed. The steps up to the 3 bedrooms (1 double, 2 twins, one of which contains the bunk bed) and a bathroom at the back of the house are a little steep but we had no issue as long as we watched our 2 year old on them.

Our kids really loved this cottage, it is extremely well equipped for them also. Lots of games (they loved the box of marble run in the living room), books and the games room across the courtyard is a nice touch.

All in all we were very pleased with cottage and will very likely stay again. The owner also was a pleasure to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottishl...
London
1 review
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfect place for a ladies bookclub weekend. Slept 9 of us easily (+ could have easily fit more using sofa beds). Really nicely decorated and cosy cottage but with lots of space to spread out.

The games room is a fun addition (complete with a 2p coin pusher game) and the piano is great for a sing along. The kitchen is perfectly stocked even for the serious cooks among us.

The owner was very helpful and we felt most welcome. Although it was too cold to sit outside, the views from the garden across the Derbyshire countryside are quite breath taking. We loved being as able to stroll around Bakewell as well as chose from the many fabulous walks straight from the cottage (the owners provide lots of information on these so it's easy to find them).

All in all the perfect spot for a perfect weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, homely cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Eight friends really enjoyed out weekend stay in Victoria Cottage! Just a 2 minute walk from the shops and amenities of Bakewell centre. The cottage was clean and warm with lots of space for us to relax and mingle. Perhaps clearer directions with a map would help to find it first time in the dark!
Would return with family next time as lots to do and walks from Bakewell to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & warm for old cottage in November
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Delighted that you had a great time and we look forward to your return with your family! Perhaps a photo of the house in the dark added to the location map provided would assist further those arriving in the evening. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freckles...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

11 of us had a great stay at for a long weekend. Useful to have bedding and towels provided. Plenty of crockery in the kitchen for 11 people. Nice house. Good location in Bakewell. Plenty of useful information provided before the stay by Maggie. Thank you!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing