We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully relaxing weekend”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie J
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We were a group of eleven women who stayed friday until Sunday to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had a lovely relaxing time in the large comfortable living room that had plenty of seating for all of us. The kitchen is lovely with everything you need, plenty of seating in there and also in the dining room. Victoria Cottage is ideally situated just a short walk into Bakewell. Would recommend and would stay there again. Great communication with the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge living room space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 3 sofas in the sitting room !
Liked least: The two sets of stairs - not easy after a few pints !
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience of it and all being able to stay together in one place, there are not many cottages around in this location that offer that
Liked least: Stairs with kids to garden area a worry but no more than being at home with stairs and other hazards!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
traceyblu...
burton on trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Victorias Cottage is a Tardis!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I had my hen weekend at Victoria Cottages at the end of April. I had lots of communication with the owner who was very helpful.

On arriving at the cottage, we were amazed to see how much space there was! We knew that it could sleep 12, but looking from the outside in, you would never believe the amount of room inside! After running around sorting out who was sleeping where and getting a feel for the general layout of the place (which is very, very quirky!!) we awaited our delivery from the supermarket. This was slightly awkward given the road outside the front door, but we managed and soon had the cupboards stocked up.

Overall the house was lovely and absolutely spot on for what we wanted. We had a few niggles, but these have been expressed to the owner and I don’t intend to dwell on them here as I am sure they have been sorted and wouldn’t spoil someone else’s enjoyment of the cottage.

When you go, make sure you take tea towels, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. There wasn’t enough for the weekend for us.

All in all a fantastic weekend was had by all. Bakewell is a very pretty town and although we didn’t spend long in the pubs on any of the nights we stayed there, all of the places we did go to were very friendly. For a lovely lunch or cake and a cuppa, go to the Upstairs Café. Staff are brilliant and the food/cakes were amazing!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness
Liked least: Needed more stock in kitchen (dishwasher tabs/tea towels)
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2012
We are always grateful and listening to our guests suggestions as to how to improve the house, for example we used to leave 3-4 tea towels out, now we leave 4-5 for a weekend. We've also added a travel stairgate for when young families go. I love the description of the house as Tardis, that's how we think of it!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing