We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but...”
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bagshaw Hall
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked the penthouse room at Bagshaw hall for a special birthday weekend for my partner and overall we were really please.

Pros
- The location is very central in Bakewell (within a short walk to the Bakewell pudding shops) and close to other regional attractions (we visited Chatsworth House) and the views were breathtaking from our room.
- The decoration / interior design is really contemporary and the facilities are excellent.
- Despite there not being a traditional reception, we called the number on the door and were met by a lovely lady who was really helpful with advice/recommendations (and offered discounts) for local restaurants, deli's and places to go.
- The penthouse room was perfect for a really nice romantic weekend (bath in the bedroom, massive bed, luxury bathroom, nice self catering facilities and generally really good quality furniture)

Cons
Attention to detail!
- Cleaning = To clarify, the place was not dirty by any means, it just lacked the attention to detail we would expect from such a luxury venue: We had a bath within our actual bedroom which was really nice, but when we arrived there were hairs in the bottom which momentarily killed a bit of the romance. Also, the grout around the tiles in the shower was grimy from soap scum (the orangey coloured marks) and there was a half empty bottle left in there from the previous guest, which suggested it hasn't been checked and wasn't cleaned thoroughly on a regular basis.

- Complimentary products = As I mentioned earlier, the venue facilities, furniture and decoration is lovely and really high end, which is why we chose the penthouse to have the best experience possible, but for it to be perfect I would expect some better products for example: tea bags (the tea provided was Typhoo which is at best a very average quality tea and I would have expected Twinings throughout) the milk was not fresh and was in sachets (despite there being a fridge) and the bathroom products were pretty average. There is nothing really wrong with what was provided (apart from the tea, but that's my own specific opinion), but we just didn't think they matched the quality of the room and let it down.

- General attention to detail = There is a flat screen TV on the wall which you can move so you can watch it in the bath or in bed, but the cable tidy had been broken off (and was on the floor behind the TV) and the cables were just flapping all over the place which I think just let the room down a little. Also, one of the bulbs in the bathroom for the mirror light has gone which, when added to my other comments gave me the impression the room wasn't fully checked.

Conclusion
Just to confirm, I would certainly stay in this hotel again and specifically in the penthouse room. If however the attention to detail was improved in terms of cleaning and general standards, I would have no problem rating this property as 5 stars.

I wouldn't normally be as critical for somewhere as good as Bagshaw Hall, but I found it a little frustrating because with a few improvements it could be excellent property. I hope my constructive critisism is read in the manner it was written and is useful.

Room Tip: We booked the penthouse room and it was excellent including amazing views of Bakewell and also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloudbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 329 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in the holiday appartments for a short relaxing break. Thats exactly what we had, the room was beautiful and the location was amazing. Just a short walk from Bakewell this has a perfect location to get to either the north or south peaks. We will definatly be returning!!

Room Tip: The Manners appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had planned a short overnight stay at Bagshaw hall - when we arrived the hall was locked up with a telephone number stuck to the door - we duly rang the number to be told a key pad number and where our room was ! The room was in some underworld beneath the house - a hobbit home - fouly decorated in ultra modern furniture not at alll in keeping with the agge and once dignified hall . There was no tea or coffee available and despite waiting until 8pm no one was ever available to welcome or assist us . By 8pm we were hungrey and thirsty - we walked around the outside of the Hall and knocked on a lit doorway - a women answered explained she was a carer for an elderly resident but was willling to provide us with tea and milk - we started to believe we had were involved in a rerun of jane eyre and would find the hall burning and a mad woman raving from the bell tower . All I can say is it was warm - the bed ok , but if you are looking for friendly hospitality and a warm reassuring welcome - forget it - we will not be returning there

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the holiday apartments for a winter break and we definitely didnt feel like we were missing out by not staying in the actual hall. In a picturesque location up a little hill, the views were amazing and with a few minute walk into town the location couldn't be better. The apartment was immaculately presented, clean and everything possible had been thought of. It was really useful to have the kitchenette which we took advantage of! The town of Bakewell is charming and close to great nature walks. I would definitely recommend Bagshaw Hall Holiday Apartments - the bed was the biggest and comfiest we've ever slept in! We will definitely be returning later on this year.

Room Tip: We had the Bear Grylls Suite - great size with amazing views, couldn't have asked for more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Every time you feel like refreshing your mind and go somewhere local go for Bagshaw Hall, what an amazing experience. We stayed at the penthouse, the views from the room were breath taking and penthouse itself was amazing. On the way to Bakewell we visited supermarket so we could fully supply our fridge at the suite and make or reheat our own food in case as the owen its also at the room. there is quite good chippy nearby , who also do a delivery to the hall. Service at the Hall its great very nice and helpful, and we could actually pick our room at the arrival after checking all of them. Views in the area are amazing, Bagshaw Hall recommended us to see Monsal Head where we spend rest of the evening having a long walk along the hill. I guarantee that after taking a bath overlooking such a amazing views you will feel so refreshed and positive. The interior design in the B. Hall its really great! Additionally downstairs there is a huge lounge to chill by the chimney in the evening. There is off road car park right outside the B. Hall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamilahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.3 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
19.2 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
5.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
13.5 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Address: Bagshaw Hall Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: ₹ 7,154 - ₹ 13,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing