We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful non tourist alternative to staying...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 12 Tory

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden ... The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The garden ...
The lounge
The lounge
The lounge
The kitchen
The main bedroom
The second bedroom
The bathroom
The stairs
The garden
The garden
The garden
The garden seating area
View from the bedroom
view of Tory cottages
View from the cottage
The garden in winter
View of Tory cottages in winter
View of Tory in winter
View of Bradford on Avon from Tory
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KatieBaus...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful non tourist alternative to staying in nearby Bath.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at 12 Tory. Maggie met us on arrival and took us in to the cottage, explained how everything worked. The apartment is warm and south facing with stunning views across the town and countryside - even a white horse is usally visible.
You do need to be fit though as it is a walk and often a climb up paths or steps in Bradford on Avon. We walked along the canal, around the town and when we did visit Bath, we took the train.
As each cottage on each level is on a common path, its great to walk along and chat to local people living there, admire their gardens and pat their cats and dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the location, the views, the amenities and being in a community rather than a hotel. Shopping was close as we were mostly doing self-catering.
Liked least: After some initial problems with the wifi and help from Maggie it settled and was very good. As self caterers we did find the mismatch of saucepans and lids difficult as was the lack of covered dishes for using in the microwave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like a marvellous view, stay here”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by the owner who helped us with our luggage as the car park is a short distance from the property reached by a flight of steps or a winding path which was good for wheeled cases. Because the property was so high up we enjoyed splendid views right across to the Westbury White Horse. The cottage was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable with an extremely well equipped kitchen. A short walk down into the town gave access to the railway station and buses to Salisbury while the buses for Bath were very close to the car park. We enjoyed lovely walks along the river and the canal as well as a boat trip. this would make an excellent property for anyone who could manage the steps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: climbing up from the town when tired!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“12 Tory”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage and village owner very friendly and helpful very comfortable and clean excellent views of the village and county of a day and night really enjoyed our stay here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benhur1
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quiet & Cosy”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We left the car at home & caught the train to Bradford On Avon. Never missed it & made good use of the railway with trips to Bath, Salisbury etc. Cottage cosy & warm. On traffic free walkway so very peaceful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77Tessa
Old Windsor
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Tory”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I begin? First, the view. As you are so high up you can see far across to the White horse of Westbury and the sunrises and sunsets are magical. The house is warm and inviting , with cosy soft furnishings , throws and wraps. It has an amazing array of artwork and has a Scandinavian ambience. I went to celebrate Christmas with my husband and 17 year old daughter and we all agreed it was one of the best Christmases ever. It has steep but easy access down to the town , through a series of steps and old paths. It is a peaceful, beautifully equipped weavers cottage and we cannot wait to go again. Maggie, the delightful owner has made this place very special and we are definitely going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the house
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing