We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic large family home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lock Quay Cottage

Lock Quay Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen
Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
The Lounge with wood burning stove and leather sofa
The Dining Area looking out
Kitchen showing smaller sitting area with sofa bed
The Dining Area looking in
The Garden
Kennet and Avon canal from the bridge
The Double Room on the second floor
Single bedroom on the middle floor
Double bedroom on the middle floor
Twin room on the middle floor
The Lock area opposite
Welcome
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy W
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic large family home from home”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This large cottage was very spacious and well equipped including toys and DVD's for both children and adults. The location was superb next to the canal and centrally placed for all the amenities of Bradford on Avon. We particularly appreciated the nice touch of providing a starter pack of food for our first night.
The furnishings and fittings were excellent and any minor problems were very quickly fixed by the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a comfortable family home
Liked least: Parking in Bradford a problem but the cottage has 2 spaces in front
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
partygal4
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant cottage just outside Bath, 10 of us stayed here for a hen do and found the cottage was brilliant for our needs.
It is very spacious and caters everything you may need. The beds were very comfortable (2 doubles, 5 singles and a sofa bed) and overlooks the beautiful village of Bradford on Avon.
We got the train into Bath, which is walkable at just 0.2 miles away. There's parking in front of the house, which does fit 3 cars. We also found there was more free road parking further up the road (up the hill).
The welcome basket was a lovely little extra which came with bread, butter, jam, milk, cereals and a lovely chocolate cake!
We didn't want to leave!
If your looking to stay somewhere close to Bath and a big group, this is the place to stay.
Dave (the owner) is the nicest man, he answered my emails straight away and when we left things behind he sent them back to me! Thanks Dave, I will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenbeak...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We visited here for the late bank holiday weekend in May for my hen weekend. There were 8 of us staying in the cottage and enough room for a few more! The kitchen is massive and well equipped for a holiday rental and the beds are comfy.
To be honest I don't think the photos do it justice as it looks a lot bigger in real life than the photos lead you to believe. The sofa was lovely and big but we were quite comfy at the dining table where we played the hen games and had dinner etc.
We arrived to find a massive welcome basket with cereal, bread, butter and cake etc. There is also an extensive selection of books and DVDs and they say that if you start a book you are welcome to take it with you. It's all been generally well thought out and made to be very welcoming so you really do feel at home.
Our only mistake as that we went into Bath for the day on the Saturday. Bath is stunning, but it did mean that I hardly saw any of Bradford on Avon which was such a shame. I've been chatting to some of the girls and we're going to go back and stay in the same cottage in winter and actually see the town. I would highly recommend this cottage - it is seriously good value for money

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackiecli...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, great views of the canal.”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A delightful cottage spotlessly clean - a real home from home feel. Excellent location, railway station is a short walk with easy access to Bath.
Some lovely pubs & cafes nearby too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHerts
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for the whole family!”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A perfect holiday home for 8 adults, a toddler and a baby. The location and setting are wonderful, the cottage is beautiful and we all had a great time. The 2 year old loved the toy box and the adults had fun cooking in the well resourced kitchen. The cottage is warm and comfortable, just what we needed!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing