We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage for a get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lock Quay Cottage

Lock Quay Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen
Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
The Lounge with wood burning stove and leather sofa
The Dining Area looking out
Kitchen showing smaller sitting area with sofa bed
The Dining Area looking in
The Garden
Kennet and Avon canal from the bridge
The Double Room on the second floor
Single bedroom on the middle floor
Double bedroom on the middle floor
Twin room on the middle floor
The Lock area opposite
Welcome
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann4558
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage for a get together”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cottage was an excellent place for our family get together for my dad's 80th birthday celebrations. Family from around the country gathered in this deceptively spacious cottage.
Although nobody minded, one of the double rooms were accessed through a twin room (probably the only slight negative) Also with elderly parents the stairs were probably a little steep.
All amenities and pubs, restaurants, tea room etc we're very close and at walking distance.
Cottage overlooked the canal which was idyllic which everyone enjoyed - some even enjoyed a 2 hr canal boat trip.
The owner of the cottage was very helpful and kept in touch prior to the stay.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location near the canal and the space
Liked least: Access of one bedroom off another
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demmers
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in Bradford on Avon”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I was looking for a place to accommodate a large group and the cottage was perfect; a home away from home. Plenty of room for us to do our activities in the living/dining rooms and a variety of different bedrooms to suit our group. If we'd have had time, I'm sure we'd have made use of all the fantastic DVDs/games/sky TV/board games! Dave gave a lot of information/advice on different things to do in the area, just a shame we didn't have long enough to investigate! Super easy to find and an affordable place to stay, with super/simple access to Bath. Would recommend to others 100%. Thank you for making it a hassle/worry free process. A real delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in a brilliant location!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Lock Quay Cottage for a 'girls' weekend away for my 50th Birthday. The owners were so friendly and helpful with my booking, and as others have already said a handy welcome pack awaited our arrival. The cottage was everything I'd hoped for and more and the 10 of us were massively impressed with it. The photos really don’t do it justice. There was plenty of space to accommodate us all and the kitchen dining room area was just perfect for us all to eat, socialise and have some fun. In fact we never ventured into the spacious and comfortable living room until the second night! It was so well equipped; it had everything we could possibly need. The location was perfect with everything a short walk away. My friends and I really can't fault this place and I would highly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good value and it was absolutely perfect for a large group of friends
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gop23
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, home away from home for weary travellers”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying here...what a find!We have family in Bradford In Avon and visit this wonderful village as much as we can...we travel from New Zealand so finding Lock Quay cottage and the homely feeling it offers so far from home absolutely wonderful!The owners put a lot of effort into making the cottage a great place to stay, there is a basket of essientials waiting on arrival bread milk, jam, cereal etc which is great as you don't have to rush to the supermarket. Great location too, loved watching and at times helping the canal boat owners as they passed throught he Lock.Well stocked kitchen, all the utensils, pots,plates etc you need.Thankyou so much...we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing!...
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was set up and ready as advertised. Only pleasant surprises
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing