We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Stourhead House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stourhead includes a Palladian house and world-famous landscape garden. The garden is perhaps the most beautiful and magical of all the great landscape gardens, Stourhead is an 18th-century view of an Arcadian paradise. On a plateau of high ground Stourhead house was built and became home to generations of the Hoare family.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We spent a good portion of the day here (11-4) and it was a great day. The weather was fabulous and the sun was shining. It's not something I would want to do if it was raining. The house had people in each room explaining everything and answering all questions imaginable. The gardens were breathtakingly beautiful and a great way to get some exercise in. The only downfall of this place was the cafe. It wasn't great for the prices. The kids meals were burnt and small portions. Even the main entrees weren't very big either. Other than that I would highly recommend this place. Bring a picnic and enjoy it in the gardens!

Thank tlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Stourhead House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and visit to Stourhead. Hope you return to us soon. Best wishes, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"spread eagle"
in 118 reviews
"autumn colours"
in 87 reviews
"national trust"
in 281 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 57 reviews
"the follies"
in 22 reviews
"king alfred's tower"
in 20 reviews
"full bloom"
in 23 reviews
"the pub"
in 89 reviews
"walk round the lake"
in 37 reviews
"every corner"
in 26 reviews
"farm shop"
in 55 reviews
"nt properties"
in 33 reviews
"car park"
in 108 reviews
"sunny day"
in 60 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 37 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 21 reviews
"rhododendrons"
in 126 reviews
Filter

210 - 214 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Lovely gardens. Took a long walk, very picturesque scenery. Well guide posted for walking difficulties. The house is interesting but then like any other old historical house.

Thank Rohit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Stourhead House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Do come in Autumn Colours it is fantastic! Thank you for your comments and hope you come back soon. Best wishes, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Being a NT member , we have been to a lot of properties, but my husband thinks this has been one of the best.
It is expensive , but devote a full day to it, and it's probably not unreasonable.
We found that an annual junior membership is only £10, which isn't much more than the child entrance fee at Stourhead, so we were very happy to take out membership for our son.

We spent a couple of hours walking in the gardens, following an Easter trail (extra fee, but resulting in an Easter egg). This provided a good route around key parts of the gardens. There were lots of daffodils out which looked lovely.
We then had a very good lunch at the pub in the middle of the estate, very close to the garden, followed by over an hour in the house, again with things for children to look for which actually makes them stand still (well almost) in each room rather than rushing on from room to room and not really seeing anything. There was also a point where anyone, including children, could add a drawing to a pad of sketches. For pianists, the opportunity to play the Steinway piano. The guides in the house were all very friendly and knowledgable.
We then ventured back to the grounds to areas we'd not been to earlier. Our son loved the little tunnels. The views were lovely.
There was still a lot of the gardens we didn't get to, but had to leave to get back home.

All in all, we have no hesitation in recommending it very highly - particularly if you are a NT a member so that cost is not a concern.

2  Thank WobaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Stourhead House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Really pleased to hear you took out a £10 membership for your son - I hope he enjoys it. Thank you for your thoughtful comments - really appreciate you took the time to write this up. Best wishes, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Distinctly underwhelmed by the house I'm afraid.

As Trust members, we didn't have to pay the entrance fee which was just as well as we felt that there was hardly anything to see.

On entering, and based on other properties that look huge from the outside, then after walking around you wander what you missed, we asked if there was much to see. 'Oh yes, there are all the rooms downstairs.' What we didn't realise was that this was code for 'You won't see any upstairs.'

This is so disappointing. You know that these houses were built huge so why not allow visitors to see the whole footprint? Yes, renovation work goes on and safety is a consideration but, come on, for the price charged...?

We didn't get the feel that this had been a 'lived in house'. There is a vast array of art work but good as it is, we felt it would only appeal to an art historian. May be it was us?

On the plus side, the guides were excellent. Not in your face but friendly and knowledgeable.

By far the best part of the visit was to the grounds. Truly lovely and worth the wait.The walks around the lake are amazing, even on a sleety day (followed by several inches of snow the next). Look out for the little gems such as the Gothic cottage and the grotto. If you go round the lake anti clockwise from the house, your walk ends up in the courtyard and the amazing pub there. First time we've walked into a pub, freezing cold and been able to order hot chocolate and a toasted teacake next to a roaring fire!

Go for the grounds but sorry, couldn't recommend the house.

1  Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Stourhead House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

In short - no. We hope to inspire debate as to what you do and do not like in the Trust. The house did lose some of its collection in a fire at the start of the 20th Century - hence there being less furniture. The house is not open in it's entirety partly because we have people still living there. Also we do offer behind the scenes tours in February where you can see a bit more. However really glad you enjoyed most of your day. Best wishes, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stourhead, 'wow', what a beautiful stage for one of the finest walks that the National Trust can offer.
The setting, the temples, reminds me of a mini Stowe in Buckinghamshire but Stourhead in its own right is magnificent!
Easy to find, easy parking and a friendly welcome, where one receives a free ticket that you will need to show for entry to the landscape garden and the house.
Beautiful gardens, temples, shrubs on the verge of displaying their bounty, an abundance of birds producing their chorus, this was the best visit on a beautiful Easter Sunday morning.
So much photo opportunity and a privilage to share.
Walled gardens, stables, gardens full of flowing bulbs and a grand homely house.
Excellent NT facilities, friendly and very knowledgable staff, Stourhead, the best in Wiltshire for sure.

Thank 111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Stourhead House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for your very kind review - really glad you had a great time at Stourhead. Best wishes, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stourhead House and Garden also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Crockerton, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stourhead House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing