We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“2nd time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishopstrow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bishopstrow House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Still very good for quick spa break, food exceptional, rooms very tasteful and staff superb just a few bits looking slightly tired but under new ownership now so should improve

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kempyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    233
    119
    48
    50
See reviews for
127
414
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Log fires, cosy sofas, huge Christmas tree - magnificent atmosphere.

Superb room (Oval??) with twin baths looking out over the surrounding parkland.

Great service, attentive but at the right pace.

Spa has some interesting showers!

The Mulberry Restaurant didn't quite nail it - nothing wrong, but seemed too modern for the house - but this might work better al fresco in the summer.

Will return when in the area

Room Tip: Old house has more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 30th and 31st December 2011. We stayed in the Shaftesbury suite, the room we had orginally booked was unavailable due to a water problem, but we had no complaints! It was very spacious and well furnished, we even had our own xmas tree complete with lights and baubles. We enjoyed dinner on 30th and a wonderful afternoon tea on 31st followed an excellent breakfast - there are nice walks in the grounds and local area to work up an appetite, details were supplied in the room, even wellies to borrow if needed! Dinner on New Years Eve was excellent, beautiful decorations, very good table top magician, fabulous 6 course dinner and excellent service, followed by dancing to a live band, who were very entertaining. It was a lovely, friendly atmosphere and it was obvious that a lot of planning and hard work had occured to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The following day, after another delicious "late" breakfast was spent enjoying the pool, and spa, which we had virtually to ourselves. Very relaxing. This is the first time we have spent New Year's eve in a country house hotel and would definitely do so again, we thoroughly enjoyed the 2 day break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were upgraded to room oval suite which was so comfy, with all the facilities you can imagine, except the tea tray but phoned down the reception and there it was with in 7 minutes, amazing toiletries, twin baths and double clean treat on the turn-down service which made us surprise. We have never seen hotels clean twice a day. The Room was absolutely spotless.
All the services were above and beyond with their attitude.
They ask you how are you and they really mean it.
The services and facility is by far the best we have stayed in bath.
The location is also excellent and located within walking distance of many attractions. We had dinner one evening at the Restaurant within the Hotel and found it to be very good. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and will return certainly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stone j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I chose this hotel as it was central to my business area, provided tennis courts, spa and heating swimming pools. I have to say I found all the staff were very helpful and polite. The chef excelled given the challenge of a special diet and every meal provided had been given thought and care to ensure I felt satisfied.

I would add that although this hotel has been recently taken over by the owners of Longleat and they have refurbished the rooms in the house there are many issues that still require addressing. I stayed in the court yard on my first visit and requested a room in the main house next time as the radiators two of the three radiators in the room did not work. The room was large and split level so the heating really needs attention. The shower was nothing more than a dribble and there was no control over how hot the water came out.which is a potential hazard. Internet access is free but connection to broadband is required.

On my next visit I was accommodated in the main house and given a beautiful room with working radiators in the room and bathroom. However, the fan from the kitchen was below the only window which meant when the window was open the noise and smell proved a problem. When I tried to use the internet the signal was useless unless I crouched in the corner of the room on my knees. I asked to be moved. The next room I had was above the front door which continued to bang when people entered and left. Internet access was much easier to use but the radiator in the bathroom didnt work. Considering the bathroom is newly refurbished the shower lacked power and was extremely noisy as it groaned into action.

Personally, if I had been paying for this "refurbishment" I would be getting the plumbers back to put right these issues with heating and showers.

Room Tip: request a room where there is broadband, working radiators and efficient bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
21.6 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
19.4 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
29.6 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
21.4 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
25.0 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopstrow House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopstrow House

Property: Bishopstrow House
Address: Boreham Road, Warminster BA12 9HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,736 - ₹ 21,487
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopstrow House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bishopstrow Hotel & Spa. Without doubt one of the finest, luxury hotels in Wiltshire.Located within easy reach of Bath and Salisbury (off the A36), only 6 miles from the famed Longleat Safari and Adventure Park.Set in 27 acres of established grounds boasting kitchen gardens, orchard and trout fishing from the banks of the river Wylye running along the hotel, deep in the heart of the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Ideal for adults and children alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bishopstrow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopstrow House Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow Hotel Warminster
Bishopstrow House Warminster, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing