We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mourne Lodge
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
56
19
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
19
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering facilitiestucked awaybreakfast cookedshop next doorwealth of knowledgeother guestsnext morninghostelhikingcommunityaccommodationmournesmountainsjarhospitalityscenerycountry
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Climbed slieve Donard on Saturday morning with a group of 6. Came back with the intention of having bbq (weather permitting) Mairead kindly moved us to a larger room downstairs with double doors out to the bbq area! It was fantastic!

Mairead even gave us a lovely fresh baguette and blankets whilst bbqing :) she was such a great host. She couldn't have been more helpful at breakfast the next morning, which was lovely!

As a group we can't wait to stay again, next time we are bringing the dog! Thank you again Mairead and for the generous donation to the chairty we did the climb for :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Public Relations Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for your incredible review Linda!! You were such a great group and it was great to see you make use of our outdoor bbq area. Can't wait to see you all again and yes you are more than welcome to bring your dog :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I stayed here for one night and I wouldn't come back. It is an adequate hostel however compared to other hostels i stayed in throughout the week in northern ireland it was way off the mark, and more expensive!
upon arrival i did not meet anyone, staff or otherwise for several hours. there was no towel for me (but seemed to be one for other guests) and BEWARE: A CLOTHES WASH IS £8! which is ridiculous and there is no dryer so i came away with wet clothes for an extortionate price.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsiddorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Mourne Lodge, well situated for walking in the Mourne Mountains, is a well equipped cross between a B&B and a hostel. It has ensuite twin and double rooms as well as rooms accommodating four or more people. There is a good buffet breakfast served in a nice dining room as well as a separate very comfortable common room with self catering facilities.The hospitality is excellent and our group of eight were provided with free afternoon tea on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for fab review John and I'm glad you and your group enjoyed your time with us as you absolutely fantastic guests to have!! Hope to see you all again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We were made to feel so welcome here. Tucked away just north of Kilkeel, this lodge was full of friendly staff and Mairead was wonderful. Attentive and kind, she had lots of good advice or our onward trip.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rich-Lee-Rewarded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for a 5 star review!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the midst of the majestic Mournes and would love to see you return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights whilst walking in the Mournes, which are beautiful.

Accommodation good for the price.

Breakfast was excellent. Maired would not have been more friendly and helpful, she was a delight.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the wonderful review Alison!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the Mournes as we really do try our best to look after our guests every need. If you're ever in the area please call in and say hi :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews