We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mourne Lodge
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
56
19
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
19
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering facilitiestucked awaybreakfast cookedshop next doorwealth of knowledgeother guestsnext morninghostelhikingcommunityaccommodationmournesmountainsjarhospitalityscenerycountry
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Just back from spending 3 nights in Mourne Lodge. Family break to this beautiful part of Ireland, We just loved this place. We got a genuine warm Irish welcome from our fantastic host Mairead and her lovely staff. Mairead is amazing,she gave us lots of information on what is available locally, nice places to have dinner and what was happening in the area. The room was very comfortable,great shower. We slept very well and started our days with a fantastic breakfast. Mairead uses local produce ... "The eggs come from the hens up the road. !!!! There is also very good self catering kitchen and very comfortable lounge where you can watch TV or chat with other guests. We all enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Mairead and Staff.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maryemcentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

What a privilege it was to have your family stay with us, especially your son and daughter who were so modest about their achievements! Thank you for this wonderful review. It was a busy weekend for us but we were so happy that you felt well catered for. Hope we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Mairead a treasure!!! Informative, knowledgable and perfectly helpful !!! Available..yet discreet..doesn't dominate ...The young team are also pleasant and determined to help you make the very best of your visit

-Great place in which to gather as a family,or a group or indeed a number of families
-Incredible flexibility for self catering or you can arrange for sustenance in any form to be provided!!
-Perfect location from which to explore the beauty of the Mournes and surrounding coastline

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5NIGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for this excellent review. It all helps to develop our community business. While it was a busy weekend for us, the weather was pleasant and I know you all enjoyed an evening by the barbeque and in the Mourne moonlight! Do visit us again and tell your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog and it was amazing. Mairead is a wonderful host. Never had a host make us so at home. Every community needs a person like her. The dog loves being in the heart of the mountains. I will recommend this place to everyone I know.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Jamie, thank you for this kind review. You were both warm, friendly guests who had an appreciation for the local community and the wonderful young staff who help to develop this business. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

I'm not one for writing reviews but feel I should in this instance. We stayed here for two nights because we wanted to bring our dog somewhere on a 'doggy' holiday. It's hard to find accommodation that welcomes pets. The Mourne lodge welcomed us and our dog and we had a great time. Mairead and the staff were friendly and helpful in giving us information on local activities and how to spend our couple of days.

A massive thanks once again and hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Stephen thank you for taking the time for this review. So glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and also your dogs. We do try to make our centre pet friendly while ensuring others guests are well looked after. Hope to see you again soon and enjoy the sunshine while it lasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Sinead and I stumbled across the lodge late on a Saturday night, keen to find a bed for the night. We called Mairead and she was kind enough to come over and give us a room for the night. Mairead is a bit of a legend, welcoming, thoughtful and full of local knowledge. Our stay there was extremely chilled out. Facilities were great and the place was spotless. But honestly I'd come back just to have a pint with Mairead. After living so long outside of Ireland she's the first to make me homesick with her hospitality and witty banter. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Sorry Mark that it took me so long to respond but thankfully we have been extremely busy. Glad you have fond memories of the Mourne Lodge and of course we can organise that pint on site at anytime! Hope to see you both again and our best wishes to Sinead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews