We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mourne Lodge
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
56
19
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
19
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering facilitiestucked awaybreakfast cookedshop next doorwealth of knowledgeother guestsnext morninghostelhikingcommunityaccommodationmournesmountainsjarhospitalityscenerycountry
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

19 Dec 2015

"lovely warm reception like staying with family"

Lovely house full of character and charm.Great setting for young or old alike.Travelled all around ideal base to stay in .Lots of lovely attractions locally.Really friendly village.The house was amazing and spacious. Rooms very comfortable. Really safe environment for kids and peaceful too. But best of all the warm reception we got through out our stay was amazing.Thanks to the wonderful Mairead we had an excellent time and will return again. thanks mairead .... Helen lucy kate and jean.................

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank helen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Hello Helen, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for all your kind comments and it was great to have you and your sisters and Mum stay with us - a real family get-together before Christmas! Sorry the weather wasn't in your favour but you all made the best of it - cosying up to the log fire with your glass of wine and a good book and great chat - what more could you ask for! Would love to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

In Sept I had the pleasure of staying a night at Mourne Lodge Co Down, run by the amazing Mairead White MBE. My son and I found this country accommodation all that we needed, but the experience of watching this lady training and encouraging her young local workers (all students, I think) was simply superb!

This stay really added to our taste of a wonderful country.
Thanks, Mairead!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Carolyn, it was great to read your wonderful report but it made me sit up and think at how perceptive our guests are! I'm glad you found me in a positive mood! We do have wonderful local girls who help to run the lodge with the same enthusiasm as I try to impart to my guests. Hope you had a great time in Ireland, especially coming from Australia! Do tell your friends about us and perhaps you will pay us another visit at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Mourne Lodge. The hostel is far lovelier than the word hostel implies. It really felt like a home away from home. It was clean, warm and well equipped. Mairead looked after us beautifully and we felt so spoilt.

The hostel itself is spotless and well signposted with a local shop a quick walk away. Parking is easy and right outside so no need to carry bags any distance.

Hostel communal areas are warm, bright and welcoming with a real fire being so lovely to come back to on a very cold november day. Our little person was made so welcome and even found a teddy to cuddle whilst she was there. Games, books and jigsaws also made her time her extra special.

Thank you so much to The Mourne Lodge we will be back soon

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room with a level access shower which was so helpful for our little visually impaired daughter
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hellykelly2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Hello Helen, thank you for this lovely review. We will look forward to spoiling you again! So glad your daughter enjoyed her stay as sometimes it can be difficult to entertain very young children. Next time fit in a hike to Lough Shannagh or the Silent Valley. Your daughter would love this! Happy new year to you, your husband and daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

This is an excellent community run accommodation in the heart of the Mournes. Our large family group (20 of us ranging from 11 years to 79 years!) stayed one night and we were catered for very well. Mairead and her staff are warm and welcoming and very helpful.
The bedrooms vary in size from twin and doubles to larger shared family rooms. We didn't expect our rooms to be ready until late afternoon but shortly after our 12.30pm arrival all of our rooms were ready. Rooms are no frills, however they are clean and beds are comfortable. Note you may share a bathroom with the room next door.
We went walking in the Mournes for the afternoon and it was lovely to return to the lodge for a warm shower. There is a large self catering kitchen with adjoining sitting area and flat screen TV. We bought some logs and lit a lovely cosy fire that evening. Theres a very relaxed, friendly and laid back feel and we were free to use the living space as we wished. It was perfect to relax and unwind after a walking afternoon. There is lots of parking space, areas to sit outside on a sunny day and BBQ facilities too.
Theres a choice of continental or full Irish breakfast at reasonable rates and we were offered second portions if we wished.
I would recommend this as an excellent base to explore the Mournes. Theres lots of information on walking routes and maps etc in the lodge. Its family friendly, comfortable, relaxed and efficient. We all enjoyed our stay. Mairead who runs it was more than helpful for anything we needed and for information on the local area including taxis, local shop etc.. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor may be quieter
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoF74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Thank you for your kind comments and so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. One of our rooms have an interconnecting door and we use that more often as a family room where children can be close to parents but not using the same bedroom. This works well most of the time. You enjoyed great weather which added to the enjoyment of your stay. Come and visit us again and tell your friends. You are supporting a local community initiative where we are giving local jobs and supporting all things local.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We were a large group of 19 and stayed her last night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The living area was large with a great log burner and plenty of comfortable chairs to relax in. A big kitchen area with a fridge, cooker, toaster, kettle..so everything you need. Bathrooms were spotless and with endless hot water. Those of us who had a cooked breakfast in the restaurant said there was loads of food and they were offered more bacon, sausages, tea, coffee. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead_White, Manager at The Mourne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us. It is great to see sisters getting together for a great weekend. Happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Mourne Lodge and do hope that you will be back again with friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews