We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were well and truly "Ballynestered"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballynester House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtownards
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballynester House
Ranked #5 of 5 Newtownards B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were well and truly "Ballynestered"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Robert and Rosemary gave us the perfect weekend break in their lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left nothing was too much of an effort for them.
After a comfortable sleep ,breakfast ,with a stunning view in the beautiful dining / sitting room ,was a great start to each day. Our hosts had even gone to the trouble of supplying Soya milk for Jane as requested.
The rest of our party enjoyed the excellent self-catering facilities of Abbey Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndavideaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is my husband and I fourth stay in Ballynester House in the last four years. Robert & Rosemary make you feel so welcome in their home. Our bedroom is lovely. Spotlessly clean. Towels & Bedding are whiter than white. So are the white robes provided. The bathroom is spacious and Rosemary provides shower gels, make up pads, body lotion etc if you need them.

The breakfast is out of this world with all the food provided by local suppliers. The views from the breakfast room and lounge are stunning.

The house is in such a wonderful setting and so peaceful just on the edge of Grey Abbey.

I would not hestitate recommending this Bed and Breakfast to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springsidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

My husband and I just returned from a two-week vacation to England and Ireland. After flying into Dublin, we drove north to begin our jaunt around the country. We wanted to find a place that would give us access to Belfast and the northern coast (Giant's Causeway), but that would also give us a picturesque, rural location. Ballynester House did exactly that. It overlooks a beautiful lough - be prepared to spend a bit of time getting there from Belfast. But Rosemary offered us a very neat and tidy room filled with snacks and tea/coffee. Her breakfast the next morning was delicious, plentiful and featured her own wonderful homemade granary bread. We enjoyed our time at Ballynester and wished that we had time to drive on down to Portaferry. We did find it convenient for our next day's journey to Giant's Causeway and places in the north.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coni2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2006

The beds were the best of the B & B's we've stayed in i.e. neither too hard nor lumpy. Plush white bathrobes were furnished. The bathroom was enormous and the shower stall had a nonslip wooden platform to stand on. Everything was clean and the hosts were engaging and informative. One note - while the current address is Newtonards, it is really just outside Grey Abbey in a very peaceful setting.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2004

Our first night's stay in Ireland was at Ballynester House and we were not disappointed! We couldn't believe our luck when we saw our lovely room and surroundings. Geraldine Baillie is the hostess and she has a great personality, very hospitable. We also had the pleasure of sharing our first "Full Irish Breakfast" with a lovely elderly couple from England who were also staying at the house. Geraldine makes a great breakfast, by the way! Great stay.
P.S. We are a cautious couple and always like to view the rooms before booking. We chose this B&B because their website was so nice. - we stayed in the purple room overlooking the countryside.
Chris and Sonia Stevens,
Toronto, Ontario Canada

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtownards hotels
11.7 km away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
13.7 km away
Edenvale House
Edenvale House
#1 of 5 in Newtownards
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynester House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynester House

Property: Ballynester House
Address: 1A Cardy Road, Newtownards BT22 2LS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newtownards
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing