We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere ...”

Molly Brown's Eatery, Terrace and Bar
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Newtownards
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Molly Brown's is a comfortable and welcoming local eatery and bar providing quality drinks, food and entertainment. The Terrace is our newly refurbished outside space for more than 100 people. The Rose Lounge and The Terrace are both available for private hire/corporate/birthday parties/weddings etc. You can buy wine and spirits in our wine shop Le Caveau and you can buy wine for delivery at greatwinedelivered.com
Reviewed 5 September 2021

Having been hesitant about eating out / returning to restaurants ... Molly Browns Eatery was brill. Covid regulations were in place and staff made it a relaxing nite out.
We both went for the fish and chips -"Gin & Tonic beer battered Haddock". Absolutely delicious !
Equally impressive was watching a nearby table have the "Big M Burger 100% Prime Beef" Will have that next time.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Visited for lunch with my family for my mum’s birthday. On a positive note, Covid measures were good, all staff were wearing masks and there were no other diners near us.

Unfortunately that’s where the positives for our visit end. We waited 15 minutes to order, then a further 40 minutes for food to be served.

When our meal eventually arrived, one burger was wrong, and my meal was served with a sauce that I had asked to be removed, making it inedible. There were no staff to be seen to ask for this to be rectified and the rest of our party had finished their meals by the time I managed to speak to somebody.

The service today put a real dampener on a family celebration and unfortunately we won’t be back or recommending Molly Brown’s to anybody.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank TheGrahamsNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Visited as a party of 6 for lunch. It took 40 minutes from ordering until our food was served. Two meals were wrong and no staff around to ask for them to be rectified.
Very disappointing, won’t be recommending to family or friends.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 234ryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

We had an excellent lunch in Molly Browns a few years back, so we had no hesitation visiting again in early August.

Our lunch order was simple - 4 tomato soups and a nacho platter.

35 minutes later, we were wondering if we'd been forgotten. Eventually the food arrived - the nachos were fine, but the tomato soups were not.

The soup was lukewarm, and I'm not even sure it could be described as soup - that normally involves seasoning, stock etc. This tasted like a bowl of blitzed canned tomatoes. The accompanying bread (one limp slice of a white cheese loaf) was also terrible.

Methinks something catastrophic happened in the kitchen on the day, but it's poor form to leave customers in the lurch for that long and then deliver fare as bad as that. Tell them the soup's off rather than trying to pawn that on them!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nat King C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Brown, Owner at Molly Brown's Eatery, Terrace and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2021

So sorry about this. We will look into it. Can you let us know when you were in? Time/Date. As you note, this is not the normal experience and is not the experience we want our customers to have. Pls contact reservations@mollybrownseatery.com and we will try to make it up to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Had dinner was nice...an xtra 2 to 3 mins and would be perfect...the service from natalie and kerry is fantastic...had lunch on sat too
Young tyler vance playing in the garden was a cool saturday

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Camper27223357907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Molly Brown's Eatery, Terrace and Bar also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 
Newtownards, County Down
 

Been to Molly Brown's Eatery, Terrace and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.