We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
171
58
22
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
58
22
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view gluten free breakfast location is brilliant lots of character top floor small fridge on numerous occasions water pressure breakfast was amazing very pleasant stay comfortable rooms portrush harbour highly recommend this b b tea coffee an upgrade ulster fry street parking
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

No problem finding the property & got street parking right outside the door.
On arrival we mentioned an early start for days hiking & were immediately offered continental breakfast left in room (there is a fridge in room).
Restaurants, eateries all in walking distance.
Room very spacious, high windows with great black out blinds should you wish to block out the amazing view/sky line. Can see the sea view from windows, There was one double bed & 1 x single bed in room (no 10). Comfortable seating 2 chairs & small table at window. Soft 2 seater easy chair beside dresser. Adequate wc/shower. Good pressure in shower and plenty of hot water. tv, hairdryer, toiletries supplied. Having spent summer at many locations in many guest houses, this one ticked all the boxes. Highly recommend staying here

Room Tip: Quiet floor, great views, spacious room No. 10
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank my_life_my_choice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Bed and breakfast in good location with on street parking close to the harbour. Positives - our room overlooked the harbour and had some lovely views. Room was nice and the bed extremely comfortable, but the bathroom definitely needs an overall and better lighting. Owners very welcoming and friendly Breakfast was okay, but not the best I had whilst travelling around Northern Ireland. Negatives - looking a bit tired and in need of some TLC. Breakfast was spoilt by a woman on her mobile phone having a very loud conversation that everyone could hear with plenty of swear words in use (f... ). There was no wheaten bread (we did ask). AIso I wish B&B's in general would use a bed sheet to cover the divan base it would look so much nicer! Location - Portrush was not what I expected and I was disappointed but that's my own personal view (I prefer smaller quaint towns). I think we visited towards the end of the season and a lot seemed to be shutdown. This was the most expensive B&B we stayed in during our time in N. Ireland and was my least favourite and not worth what we paid.

Stayed: September 2015
5  Thank Holidayer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

The Avarest B&B overlooks the harbour and although the immediate line of sight is partly obscured by other properties you can see Donegal on a sunny day. Unsurprisingly, the Avarest being an older property does not have dedicated parking; rather you have to search for a vacant slot on the street. You will probably drive around the one-way system more than once or twice trying to find a parking slot. There is a council operated car park 10 minutes away at Ramore head but the parking is time-limited, so if you overstay you risk being fined.

We were in the attic room at the very top of the building. There is a small elevator which stops between the 1st & 2nd floor, then another two flights of stairs to the loft/attic room at the top of the building. The room had an en-suite with a shower cubicle but not a bath. The en-suite is fairly cramped. The bed was comfortable and we slept ok. The small flat screen TV has the usual free view channels. Wi-Fi was available in the room, it dropped out a few times, but mostly it was ok. Tea & coffee were available. Helpfully, there was also a fridge in the room. Breakfast was good & plentiful, cooked to order, not kept warm under heat lamps. The breakfast is at least the equal of some 3 and 4 star hotels. The girls serving the breakfast were very pleasant and efficient.

The Avarest is a B&B from the Victorian era and might be described as “Characterful” or “Bijou”. I disagree, our room, particularly the en-suite has been refurbished quite poorly. The quality of the carpentry, plastering and decoration workmanship are sub-standard. The room, corridor and landing all have a DIY feel, a ‘make do and mend’ approach. The door to room 17 is key-operated but the sign on the door designates it as an emergency fire exit. The Avarest have their own website specific to the property and it’s a fantastic website, the photographs are professional and therefore show the property at its very best – I found the reality less flattering.

Yes there are positives, but I agree with previous reviewers, there is plenty of room for improvement. I will not be returning and therefore cannot recommend. Maybe your experience will be better. I will load some photos which may assist you in your decision.

Hopefully, you found this review useful, if so please take a second to click the 'yes' button below, and of course should you have any questions I am happy to offer an informed opinion via tripadvisors web mail.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smakibbfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Clients have turned to friends over our 21 years in the business. They don't come for the décor or finishing's we have chose for our home, but for the family homely atmosphere, the warm welcome, comfy warm feel. The wonderful views, O yes, to explain to this person, pity Lord Kerr many hundreds of years ago had the audacity to build houses in front of Mark street just to avail of the spectacular views.
If your concern is décor and finishing's choose somewhere else to stay, we see you also like The Ramada, well it doesn't tick all the boxes either, judging from their reviews.

People who don't understand dealing with the public everyday, shouldn't be hard on those who do, you lot can be hard work lol
.
We don't like being compared to a government funded hotel run by staff.
We are self sufficient.

So all you readers out there, that love meeting people ,sharing experiences with others, whilst doing so in clean comfy surroundings give Avarest B&B a go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Little gem so quiet no noise at all outside at night not even traffic have been going to portrush for years and never realised this street was there and staff were so friendly breakfast was amazing just a complete all rounder

Room Tip: Very quiet conducive to a good nights sleep will definitely go back here
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank paulamary138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Three of us were booked in for Thursday 20 August - we got a phone call that morning to say they had made a mistake and couldn't take us after all!!! They said they would ring us with suggestions for other B&Bs that had rooms available - needless to say that call never came. Beyond terrible.

Stayed: August 2015
6  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

We apologised profusely for not having your room. When talking to you, you said not to worry you would sort yourself out and understood these things can happen in a busy season. Somewhat surprised to read this review, but with 21 years in the business we now understand internet trolls are out there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews