We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
171
58
22
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
58
22
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view gluten free breakfast location is brilliant lots of character on numerous occasions top floor water pressure three nights nice room very pleasant stay breakfast was amazing comfortable rooms an upgrade highly recommend this b b street parking ulster fry rope bridge
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a group of 11 family members staying for 2 days and when we arrived we all wanted to leave. We did however stay since it would have been difficult to find another place for all 11 people. The people running the B&B are all nice and helpful and the breakfast was good. The location is good and the water view is nice if you don't mind that it includes rooftops, hanging laundry and messy yards, which of course the B&B can do nothing about.

WiFi was sporadic. Walking up 3 flights of narrow stairs with luggage was not easy. The bed was fairly comfortable. The linens and rugs are a little worn. Cosmetic things like caulking in the shower are a little messy. Vents were dusty. Mirror in room is at navel level and no chair to sit down.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drexelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

It is a pity you guys didn't fully enjoy your stay with us, but then reading your other reviews it is easy to see, that we cannot compete with Castles and 5 Star Hotels. If you were looking luxurious rooms you didn't read in any of our property decriptions, we offer clean, comfy, basic accommodation in our family home. Would also like to point out it is very rude and insulting to stay in an Irish mans home and then abuse his hospitality. We would also like to make you aware that if you had arrived at a sensable hour ie not 11 pm we would have been glad to get you accommodation elswhere, even though to get your high standard you probably would have had to travel to Belfast again, as our Dunluce Castle doesn't provide accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the 3rd time me and my fiancee have been to Portrush in the last 3 years and each time we stay at the Avarest and it just gets better and better. Syd and the gang are really friendly and down to earth and really do make it feel like a home from home. The breakfasts are to die for and the room we stayed in this time was really lovely and clean with a very comfy bed! We shall be back next year for definite!!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suggsy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We are staying at Avarest at the moment and I am so impressed I had to go on the free wifi in our room and comment on our experience. My husband and I are travelling around Ireland with 2 friends, Avarest is our 8th accommodation and is BEST by far. The ambiance from the minute you enter the house is most warm and welcoming. The cleanliness is excellent and as for the breakfast's well for a bed and breakfast it is just outstanding quality, we have no need to eat well into the evening after an Avarest breakfast. As we have been travelling for 2 weeks now it was very welcome to do our own laundry at our own leisure. We could also check our emails and catch up with happenings back home. We will be sad to leave Avarest tomorrow and wish we had time to stay longer. Thank you Syd and Dawn for sharing your home and hospitality with us and we will most definately reccommend you to all we know coming this way.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapyla_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed for one night and found everything nice and clean. The owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was really great - homemade full irish breakfast with soda and potato bread. Portrush is a typically british sea bath and the Avarast B&B is a perfect location to stay, if you visit the town and the long strand.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark187374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Booked the suite room, excellent size and what a view!!! Breakfast was dead on. Very good value for money compared with other b&b's in the area. Great for families as its only 5 mins down the road to barry's etc. Would recommend.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews