We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
456
373
180
73
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
373
180
73
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view reception staff good size hotel restaurant lovely hotel third floor ramore head street parking an evening meal one night stay lovely view main street giants causeway single bed short break enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay recently, and found this hotel to be good in most aspects. Our room meet our needs well, was warm and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was buffet style but was good and tasty, freshly cooked and refreshed. Car parking though is a bit of a lottery. There are spaces at the back but you need to be early to get one. We had to park on the street at the back but it was free and safe. We had one evening meal here with a large group. The food overall was fine but there were a few mix ups with some of the orders and some had to wait an extra 15 mins. The place is clean and fresh and very convenient to the portrush shops and attractions

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha G, General Manager at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Ashley A, I am sorry there was a mix up with the order at dinner, but I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We do only have a very limited parking area however as you said there is a lot of free on street parking around the town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon kind regards Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast and 1 dinner over Easter. (2 adults and 2 kids)

We have stayed in lots of places over the years but this was by far the best.

We had room 120 which is a family room (2 double beds, bath with shower over - shower was amazing!) - the best bit of our room was the view over the Atlantic Ocean - even on a stormy day it was beautiful!

There is a radiator in the room that you can turn up or down, I didn’t realise and woke up roasting hot the first night - they could probably turn heating off during the night to save money but we can just turn it of in the room.

The place is very very clean! I would suggest they consider some pictures of the Atlantic Ocean, boats or local area in the rooms as the pictures looked like pieces of framed curtains which weren’t great but not a big deal.

This was not a really expensive hotel and we thought it was good value although would recommend new pillows as they are very flat.

They provided little shower gels, shampoo and tissues which was a nice touch.

The TV channels were also very good and the beds were very comfortable.

The food in the hotel was really brilliant both for dinner and breakfast. The restaurant is lovely with tables at the window looking right out to sea! It’s lovely and bright and airy. Although at dinner it was cold in the restaurant and lacked a little atmosphere - I would strongly recommend darkening down a little in the evening and bringing in some live entertainment- like a singer and they would probably fill it up more as the food was lovely.

The staff in the hotel and restaurant were all lovely and here is a hotel car park which was a bonus. The hotel is in the centre of Portrush so perfect location.

He kids didn’t want to go home - so that says it all!!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mrskchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha G, General Manager at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello mrskchapman, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments and I will make sure I pass them onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Natasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Just returned from a two night stay here bought with groupon. Lovely hotel in a very central location. We were lucky to get a parking space when we arrived so no negatives there. The reception staff were lovely and very helpful as were the bar staff. Food and drink in the bar both lovely. Room was large and clean ..no sea view which was disappointing but in the great scheme of things didn't really matter. First visit to this hotel but would definitely return.

Room Tip: probably worth paying a little bit extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha G, General Manager at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Heather H , Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Finding a parking space at this hotel is almost impossible. There are 14 spaces in the covered carpark and 2 set aside for disabled people. I do not know if staff use these places as well as guests but we were never able to get a parking space. Both my husband and I are disabled and have a blue badge, but we had to park some distance away and struggled to make our way to the hotel with our luggage. Although we arrived just before 3pm we had to store our luggage in the luggage room near reception( no help offered or given) and find somewhere to eat. No food (not even a cup of coffee) is available between 2pm and 5pm so we had to go elsewhere for food after we arrived tired and hungry. Check out is at 11am (we were reminded of this 4 times at check in) and check in is at 4pm so we had no access to our room.(This gives 5 hours for the room to be cleaned!!) We upgraded to a sea view room for an extra ten pounds per night and this was a good decision.The room had a beautiful view of a green with the Atlantic Ocean visible. It was comfortable with a kingsize bed and a single bed. Tea and coffee facilities as well as a room safe were included. However one of the lights near the door was broken as was the toilet roll holder in the bathroom. On the plus side, the shower was really powerful and there were plenty of towels.
We did not eat any meals here during our three day stay and found lots of lovely places to eat in the surrounding area. However there was always the problem of finding a parking space anywhere near the hotel on our return. Part of the problem could be due to the renovations being carried out on the pavements (and yes it is noisy at times) but even when this work is completed I still think there will be a parking problem. There is nowhere available to extend parking as half the carpark has to be designated to the residents of the apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teacher358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha G, General Manager at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello teacher358, I am sorry you had issues with parking, there are only two disabled parking spaces in our very limited parking area at the rear, but there is also a disabled parking spot at the front of the hotel that can hold 3 cars. The works that are going on in the town as part of the Revitalise scheme are causing a little more traffic disruption than normal but you are correct in saying they are not affecting the parking . We have 2 main car parks in Portrush one at either end of the town, other than these parking is very limited in the centre. The staff do not use the car park at the rear of the hotel. The apartments behind the hotel are nothing to do with the hotel, they own the other car parking spaces behind us.I am sorry that you were not given more information when you arrived, the bar is open for teas, coffees and cakes from 12 midday onwards, we do not until June serve food all day in the restaurant. Our check in time is from 4pm although we do our best to get the rooms ready and guests checked in as soon as we can. I am sorry that your toilet roll holder was broken and the light near the door also, I do hope you reported this to reception so that we could fix them for you. We do hope you will come and visit us again. Kind Regards Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Booked this hotel for our 40th wedding anniversary. Requested a sea view room. Noise from under our window from workmen cutting paving stones, using various equipment, lorries moving etc from early morning until after tea ! Not a very relaxing break ! Feel we should have been warned about this, and either given a refund, or a change of date to when the workmen had moved on. It left our room out of bounds all day due to the constant noise, so the sea view was really not appreciated at all. Breakfast good, staff excellent, room bit dated but clean and tidy. Was just spoiled with the noise outside ! Would not recommend staying there at the moment.

Room Tip: Good sea views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarylowe421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha G, General Manager at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello Rosemarylowe421, I am so sorry that your stay was so disturbed by the works going on in the town as part of the revitalise scheme for Portrush. We have no control over when which parts of the town are going to be worked on so are unable to make any warnings to our residents. However the pavement directly outside the hotel has now been finished and is a great improvement on what we had. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the staff I will pass them onto them and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews