We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent time had :)”
Review of GolfLinks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GolfLinks Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent time had :)”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a groupon deal as a present. always go to lush but never stayed in the hotel before.

walking in yes their was noone at reception but this can easily be resolved at walking a few more feet to the bar and saying hi I'm here to check in! they are friendly enough you know!

we had room no6 which had no view but who cares it was clean and spacious and somewhere to put ur head down! sheets were crisp white and everywhere shower included was spotless. tv is good with free view options. the only downside is the mattress wasn't the comfiest but I'm not a princess! lol.

we ate breakfast in the restaurant the 2 mornings, fast service, nice fry not greasy and buffet was good with cereal fruit yogurts toast etc. and a good cup of tea.
on our second night we ate dinner in the hotel it was very busy so we booked a table and when the food eventually came (30 min wait) it was lovely.

if you are going to complain about noise do not stay here it's Kelly's hotel beside 1 of northern Ireland's biggest night clubs what do you expect? it didn't bother me at all lying in bed hearing music/people because I'm usually 1 of them!

I would definately go back here and can't believe the negative reviews nearly put me off even going!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geary191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    30
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
38
88
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My mum, 1yr old daughter and I stayed here for two nights in March and were delighted with how friendly and helpful the staff were. The accommodation is roomy, very clean and comfortable but what makes the hotel great is the team of people in the restaurant and throughout. Nothing is too much trouble and they always had time to have a laugh with my daughter. The evening meal was excellent and really good value for money. The location is close to the beach and to the town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very recently my husband and I spend 2 nights away (midweek) at this hotel, using the groupon deal. We had such an enjoyable time there, found the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be very welcoming.

On the first evening we dined in the hotel, and used the second part of the groupon deal which gave a free bottle of wine with a 3 course meal. Both the meal and the wine were really lovely, and in actual fact the food we had in Atlantis was WAY superior to the food we ate in a well known restaurent the following evening! My husband had steak in Atlantis, said it was one the best steaks he has even had - and this is saying something, as we regularly holiday in the US and have a few favourite steakhouses over there! Breakfast was included in the deal and both morning was a lovely Ulster fry, that was dry and not dripping in oil!

I felt strongly that I wanted to write this review (my first ever!), as I happpened upon the previous bad reviews, and wanted to give my own perspective. We couldn't have asked the hotel for more, and would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Some room overlook the entrance to Kelly's, so if you're easily annoyed by noise then ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a Deal on Groupon for Atlantis and used it over Valentine's Day.

Our first impression was omg it's right beside Kelly's which we thought would be crazy but found out later that Kelly's is only on 2 days a week which was a relief.

the Hotel looked well from the outside however there was little if no ground for a walk around the hotel grounds.

The foyer looked as though it had had a facelift and was appealing to the eye. it looked quite cosy with leather seats and pleasant decor.

However we were given a double economy room which was so very small. we walked through the door and bumped into the bed. ( this is no exageration )

The room was clean however to get changed we had to sit on the edge of the bed as there was no space around the bed to stand. only enough room to shuffle to the toilet.

the bathroom door wouldnt close so we had to use a coin to lock the door from outside which was very inconvenient. the bathroom was very basic. with no extras. We never had hot water in our room. it was always luke warm which was very unpleasant waking up to in the morning.

we asked to change rooms but there was no available free rooms.

the room was also very warm with a view of the heating and a staircase.

Breakfast was included in the price which was good value for money.

It was £60 for two nyts for 2 people including breakfast so all in all it was value for money however i would have been happier if we could have upgraded to a more spacious room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in economy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel through groupon, we couldn't have asked for any better, especially for the price! The only issue we had was the heat of the room. After speaking to staff we found out, it was due to the kitchens, restaurant etc which where below us (they are trying to sort this problem). We stayed on wed/thurs night, which was good as we got free entry into Kelly's on the wednesday night. We only had breakfast in the restaurant as we went out for dinner elsewhere, the staff in the restaturant where friendly and welcoming. I really couldn't fault this hotel, there has clearly been a lot of work put into redecorating it and it looks really good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
2.2 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
952 reviews
2.1 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
2.1 km away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
376 reviews
2.1 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GolfLinks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GolfLinks Hotel

Property: GolfLinks Hotel
Address: Dunluce Road, Portrush BT56 8JQ, Northern Ireland (Formerly Atlantic Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Hotel Class:3 star — GolfLinks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GolfLinks Hotel is a Modern Hotel, situated in the town of Portrush, on the North Coast of Ireland. We serve fresh & local food daily and offer FREE wifi to all guests. Entertainment in hotel every Saturday night & on fridays in Peak season. Situated beside Kelly's Nightclub- which operates Wednesdays and Saturday Nights (residents staying receive Free access to Kellys) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
GolfLinks Hotel Portrush, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing