We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portrush Townhouse Accommodation(Portrush)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ashlea House(Portrush)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrick(Portrush)
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Portballintrae)
US$ 261
US$ 254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospect House(Portrush)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramona Lodge(Portrush)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
618
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomhomemade breadother guestshome made cakescommunal tableon arrivalspiral staircaseperfect hostsnorthern irelandbreakfast was deliciousguest loungelovely toiletriescomfortable beddinner reservationslocal producewarm welcomeulster fry
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Wow... we were so incredibly pleased with this little paradise in Portrush. Sharon and Dave were outstanding- so helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and relatable. The garden room was a perfect choice for us... it offered a quiet seclusion in a precious setting but was just a few steps away from socializing in the main house. Portrush is a hidden gem of fantastic food and coastal must-sees; Shola was a lovely addition to what has been a favorite holiday for us yet.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank macey2951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

We really appreciate you taking the time to post this excellent review of your stay with us in Portrush, thank you. We hope you might visit these shores for another holiday sometime, we'd be delighted to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We got married on Saturday and spent our next two nights staying in the garden room. An unforgettable stay, waking up to birdsong, bluebells and an amazing local breakfast. Absolutely loved the homemade bread and the pancakes were the best I have ever eaten. Having been brought up in Portrush it was such a surprise to find such a perfect place to stay so near to Portrush itself, it is so well situated and peaceful that most locals don't know it exists.

The hosts Sharon and Dave are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, perfectly equipped with everything you could need and personal touches. Everything has been thought of.

Thank you, we will be back! Caroline and Vincent

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you so much Caroline & Vincent for choosing Shola for such a special occasion, it was lovely to play a little part in your perfect celebrations. Wishing you both a lifetime of married bliss and we hope to see you back in Portrush for anniversary celebrations! Thanks for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

My Mum and I stayed two nights and were literally gobsmacked at the quality of not only the guest house (furnished to a top spec) but also the welcome we received from both Sharon and David, chatting enthusiastically about what we could see and do - like we were the first to have ever asked. Super friendly and generous, David gave us lifts both nights down into Portrush whilst Sharon found out where was playing traditional music (a must for us!) and also arranged and got discount on our tickets to the Giants Causeway. We felt utterly taken care of throughout our stay, without even mentioning the delicious breakfast complete with home cooked bread and double sausage/double bacon! The complimentary beer (more than) tickled my fancy and was yet another surprising and generous touch.

Having stayed in B&Bs and guest houses all over the world I'm struggling to think of one that beats Shola on not just quality but friendliness and the little touches that leaves you with a lingering smile. My Mum's still talking about breakfast being served on Denby crockery.

In summery, when you're away you always hope your hosts go the extra mile. Sharon and David go the extra marathon. Stay here!!


Looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Garden room gets exclusivity to garden
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morgan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Many thanks for your wonderful and very complimentary review - we're more than happy to go the extra mile, but have been known to go the marathon distance too (literally, we're both runners!!!). We look forward to your return trip staying at Shola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We stayed in the garden room for three nights. The room had a nice view to the back garden and a place to relax outside at the end of the day after hiking. The B&B is in a Great location to explore the Giant Causeway and also hike along the Causeway Trail. There is a bus that stops just outside Shola to go to the main points on the trail. Breakfast was excellent. Home baked bread every morning, nice coffee and cooked breakfast including pancakes, Ulster fry and porridge. The living room is a beautiful place to chill out or read. Sharon and David were great hosts and always ready to give good tips about places to go and things to do. At arrival we were greeted with tea and delicious homemade cakes. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RichardandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Shola Coach House while touring the Causeway Coast. Not only is the coach house well-located, but it is also charming and our hostess, Sharon, was welcoming and most helpful with touring and dining suggestions. And breakfast was yummy! Thank you!!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank LBBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for posting this great review of your stay at Shola. It was a pleasure to host you and if ever you are back on the Causeway Coast we'd love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews