We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Great Hosts”
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Olive and her husband have a wonderful b&b perched above the quaint coastal town of Cushendall. The view of the bay and mountains is spectacular.
The traditional breakfast was great and hit the spot.
The room was a good size and clean.
The shower door was missing but we learned there was a funny story about that and expect it will be rectified.
Olive suggested a B&B for our next leg of the trip and that worked out. She even called us to let us know we had left something behind. Very honest and helpful. The town of Cushendall is great too. Check out Harry's for dinner and MCCollums for a pint.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Duffman8mycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Owner at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated.
We endeavour to cater as best we can for all our guests and we hope this has been so with regard to yourselves. Hope you can make a return visit to Cullentra House sometime again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Olive and James the place is amazing and olive your baking is awesome very good breakfast. Your home is squeaky clean and well presented pure luxury me and my wife stayed three nights in October 2017 we will be returning absolutely thank you both for making our stay s0 pleasant the view from cullentra house bed and breakfast is amazing highly recommended yes

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Owner at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Many thanks to you and your wife for choosing to stay with us. It was such a pleasure to have you in our home.
Following our discussions on country music we hope you have some new names in the country scene to listen to throughout the winter months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I’m not exaggerating. This b&b is delectable!

Google maps took us on a pretty drive about a mile up the hill from the village to this lovely home surrounded by green fields.

We checked in a bit late, but this didn’t phase our hostess, Olive. She greeted us with a warm welcome and made us a cup of tea served with home made cakes. (Bonus hospitality)

The first thing I noticed was that this was probably the cleanest house I have ever been in. Our room was a pretty double with ensuite, comfy bed and bedding, bedside phone chargers, in room tea/coffee. The ensuite was tiny, but very acceptable and modern.

We were so impressed we asked for a second night right away.

Night 2 we were moved to another pretty room with 2 singles and a shared washroom complete with soaker tub and walk in shower.

Olive offers a Breakfast menu to choose from in the evening. The food she served us was home made by her, huge servings and every condiment and extra you could possible imagine. She even served appetizers of fresh fruit smoothie! Honestly, Dear Olive, you are a fabulous cook!

I have many fond memories of my adventure in Northern Ireland, but Cullentra House and Olive stand out as especially memorable. Thank you for your warm, friendly and flexible hospitality Olive! ❤️ I apologize for forgetting your husbands name. His directions to the waterfalls were perfect.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kats K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Owner at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments. It is people like you who acknowledge the lengths we go to in order to satisfy our customers that makes our work worthwhile.
We were delighted to be able to accommodate you on the second night and we hope you can return again should you ever visit this beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We just stayed here for one night. Lovely view from the front of the house. Room was very clean, as was the bathroom. Bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was generous. The one bad spot...the WiFi. Either we couldn't get on, it dropped us, or it was so slow that we gave up. It was better in the morning before we left.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobinsFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Owner at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Many thanks for your kind comments which are greatly appreciated. Sorry to hear about the wifi considering that our guests comment on the strong signal. We have two hubs so I can only think tha perhaps you were trying to link into one that was too far away from your room. Pity you did not let us know when you were here thus allowing us to correct the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

As a tour operator, I booked five rooms at Cullentra House to accommodate seven of us for two nights. Everything about the stay went smoothly... the booking, the payment, the accommodations. I even added one guest at the very last minute and James was able to find her a room. The payment process and communication was extremely smooth. So this is a great option for people planning small tours.

The home itself is sparklingly clean with all new fixtures and furniture. This includes a comfortable lounge. Everything is on one floor, which makes managing luggage so easy. Breakfast was on par with gourmet options - including eggs benedict (OMG). Then there are the views! Just walk outside and take in the fabulous surroundings that define the Glens of Antrim - the mountains, the sea and Tiveragh - the fairy hill. You can even experience the views on Google Street View if you plug in the address.

Several of my guests said, "What must it be like to wake up to this view every day." Ours was the triple room that had a wide window that faced that view and the sunrise each morning.

I was concerned at first that we wouldn't be right near the town of Cushendall where our guests could walk to the town center. James and Olive were so accommodating and offered to drive us and pick us up from our dinner in the town. James also gave us great advice on what to see nearby.

Finally, these hosts are so genuinely nice that it was a pleasure to simply be around them. They couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend a stay at Cullentra House and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the front - the triple room is worth the extra money if it's availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindieburgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Owner at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

A special thanks to you Mindie for selecting to have your party stay with us. We had a wonderful time conversing with them and yourself as you took in the sites along this famous Antrim coastline. Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
25 km away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,488 reviews
38.2 km away
Anvershiel House
Anvershiel House
#6 of 29 in Portrush
176 reviews
4.6 km away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Cushendall
93 reviews
1.6 km away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
Garron View
Garron View
#5 of 10 in Cushendall
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range: ₹ 4,255 - ₹ 7,930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing