We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
275
75
49
18
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
75
49
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities cellar restaurant swimming pool wedding reception self service overlooking the river steam room second to none large bathroom from start to finish first class wedding venue staff were amazing hen party saturday night friendly hotel following morning
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Such a shame. The steak was overdone, the Diane sauce tasted like it was made with condensed milk and the chips were anaemic. We expected so much more from a wedding venue that seems so well presented. My husband had the gratinated cod & champ - he enjoyed the champ!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 567lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear L M

I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner recently in the hotel, made all the more disappointing as no complaint was raised at the time.

I am afraid there is very little I can do after the effect other than to apologise - I know that the very many hoteliers and restaurant owners I have met in my (too) many years in the business would prefer to deal with the matter when the guests are in-house when something can be done to correct whatever the shortcoming is, rather than reading anonymous reviews after the fact which very often don't give the detail we need to solve whatever the problem was in the first place!

I trust any future visit to the hotel will have a more satisfactory outcome.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the Glenavon & stayed over, the room was brilliant very clean and plenty of room & amenities. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Will definitey be back for another stay in the future.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Amy E

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay and for your very kind comments about the hotel and its facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & the wedding and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

attended a relatives wedding at THE GLENAVON HOTEL recently
The venue itself is really homely and extremely clean.The hotel entrance and all public areas are all really well furnished and extremely comfortable.
The actual wedding reception and the wedding meal was fantastic fayre with all the staff going above and beyond.Anything that was asked for was never a problem to them,breakfast was also very good value well presented and hot.
A thoroughly great stay and very reasonably priced

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the river,really pleasant
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Beautiful hotel and wonderfully friendly staff.Everything was clean,the leisure centre was absolutely brilliant,very fresh and a nice size.Highly recommend.
The breakfast was adequate and the service was spot on by lovely staff.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 72perksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula W, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear 72perksy

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay - it was very good of you to take the time and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay in particular the wonderfully friendly staff!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I'd like to give a big thank you to Pauline and her staff for making our 50th Wedding Anniversary so special. Everything was first class from start to finish and I couldnt recommend the Glenavon enough....Thank you from Jackie & Tony

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula W, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Jackie M

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay and 50th Wedding Anniversary celebrations at the hotel. It was very good of you to take the time and we are all delighted that everything went well. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back for the 55th in a few years time!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews