We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
41
42
24
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
42
24
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub charges apply pay and display top floor large shower welsh breakfast generous portions next morning excellent shower pleasant staff comfortable beds tea and coffee making facilities public car park shower room beef lovely room each morning
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in and spent an hour having a drink with my husband. Came accross as a mans pub i think i saw one woman and packs of men drinking! Wine was expensive! Menu didnt look great! Didnt see anyone eating! Probably wouldn’t visit again personal preference!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank richgemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Stayed in room 3 very good.
Has 3 single beds ,2 in main room and one in a adjoining room.
Great if sharing with friends or work colleagues.
Food in evening was lovely.
Host was very pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast was fine.For some reason the chef smothered my fried egg with pepper
which i don't like otherwise good.
Would definately stay again

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Well arrived after a terrible drive from Newcastle upon Tyne. What a pleasant surprise. Warm welcome lovely cosy room. Then downstairs for a very decent meal. Had a good night's sleep and a very good breakfast in the morning. The following 2 days were the same ate out on the other two evening to sample the town fare all very good. Well done Camathan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I would like to thanks the staff at the rose and crown for accommodating us after booking. Com messed up our booking. We arrived at 12 midnight expecting a family room that we had booked with booking.com and this hotel doesn't have one. I would like to thank the duty manager Simon for putting us in the best available room they had and not turn us away as we had young children. I would also like to thank Julie for accommodating us all weekend.
Thanks again Rose & Crown for a lovely stay. Booking.com need to do better.

Doug Tyler

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

A warm welcome, everytime i go in. a great atmosphere and a friendly place for families.i have stayed at the hotel more than once and it was excellent , nothing to complain about. the restaurant is amazing, a wide amount of choices to choose from, but i do highly recomend the taffy burger, it has become my favourite on the menu

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews