We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
37
42
23
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
42
23
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publocal beerpay and displaytop floorlarge showerwelsh breakfastan enjoyable staynext morningexcellent showercomfortable bedspublic car parktea and coffee making facilitiesshower roomeach morningpleasant staffcentral locationwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

With time to kill on a dull day and waiting for our coach, we spent the time having a leisurely lunch at this pleasant venue. Service was first class and the food of a high standard. It being Gwyl Dewi we launched into as much authentic Welsh food as we could (Cawl etc) and were not disappointed. Apparently if Wales are playing they serve half-time nosh for free ! Now that's what I call dedication to the cause !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evansdafydd270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Again can't fault the welcome and, how well we were looked after, food was good and well priced rooms very comfortable overall still good value for money. It's not huge but, with a good mix of good food great beer and welcoming service it is a great place as a base for the region

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank MarkCosgrove62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Expensive (£80 including breakfast) and disappointing. Food terrible with cheese sandwich and Vegetarian lasagne the sole veggie options. Barman surly, towels old and noisy neighbours. Comfortable bed the only saving grace.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank billshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Attentive waitress( we thought) but when our food came out nearly every dish was wrong. Unfortunately they had to go back...quickly rectified and we enjoyed. Expensive for what you get from a pub menu.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank smilenicolathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We have always enjoyed visiting the Rose & Crown but today I was extremely disappointed. I booked for myself and 5 friends for a Xmas dinner and to begin with we were not impressed to be put in a corner with two round tables pushed together (which obviously did not work)Then we found ourselves surrounded by about 25 people standing around drinking and chatting while they waited for tables to be laid up for their dinner. In the midst of this confusion a waitress (who spoke no English) brought our dinner which consisted of a minute piece of Turkey served on child sized plates, enough vegetables for 3 people (not 5) and when I tried a sprout it was as hard as a bullet!! We all decided this was not acceptable and left the food untouched. After speaking to the management the situation was satisfactorily resolved and we left but will be wary about returning there to eat in the future.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paulene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews