We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
42
42
23
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
42
23
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub pre christmas charges apply pay and display top floor large shower welsh breakfast generous portions next morning excellent shower pleasant staff tea and coffee making facilities public car park shower room warm welcome beef each morning
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

With time to kill on a dull day and waiting for our coach, we spent the time having a leisurely lunch at this pleasant venue. Service was first class and the food of a high standard. It being Gwyl Dewi we launched into as much authentic Welsh food as we could (Cawl etc) and were not disappointed. Apparently if Wales are playing they serve half-time nosh for free ! Now that's what I call dedication to the cause !

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evansdafydd270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Again can't fault the welcome and, how well we were looked after, food was good and well priced rooms very comfortable overall still good value for money. It's not huge but, with a good mix of good food great beer and welcoming service it is a great place as a base for the region

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MarkCosgrove62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Expensive (£80 including breakfast) and disappointing. Food terrible with cheese sandwich and Vegetarian lasagne the sole veggie options. Barman surly, towels old and noisy neighbours. Comfortable bed the only saving grace.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank billshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Attentive waitress( we thought) but when our food came out nearly every dish was wrong. Unfortunately they had to go back...quickly rectified and we enjoyed. Expensive for what you get from a pub menu.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank smilenicolathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We have always enjoyed visiting the Rose & Crown but today I was extremely disappointed. I booked for myself and 5 friends for a Xmas dinner and to begin with we were not impressed to be put in a corner with two round tables pushed together (which obviously did not work)Then we found ourselves surrounded by about 25 people standing around drinking and chatting while they waited for tables to be laid up for their dinner. In the midst of this confusion a waitress (who spoke no English) brought our dinner which consisted of a minute piece of Turkey served on child sized plates, enough vegetables for 3 people (not 5) and when I tried a sprout it was as hard as a bullet!! We all decided this was not acceptable and left the food untouched. After speaking to the management the situation was satisfactorily resolved and we left but will be wary about returning there to eat in the future.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paulene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews