We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage perfect for dogs”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the hot tub or enjoy alfresco dining whilst enjoying the stunning views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the hot tub or enjoy alfresco dining whilst enjoying the stunning views
Dining area Open plan dining & lounge with amazing views over the wetland and bird feeding stations
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Relax in the hot tub or enjoy alfresco dining whilst enjoying the stunning views
Dining area
Open plan dining & lounge with amazing views over the wetland and bird feeding stations
Fully equipped kitchen
Cosy up in front of the fire with a piece of homemade Bara Brith
Double bedroom with plenty of storage
Bunk beds provide versatile sleeping for a range of ages
Maesydderwen Holiday Cottages situated in 42 acres of peace, tranquility and plenty to do!
View of The River Towy Valley from Maesydderwen
Tumbling waterfalls and picturesque fairy dells on Maesydderwen
Roe deer are often seen and wander freely around the cottages and in the woods
Badgers playing in the woods at Maesydderwen
The Beacons Way passes 1 mile from Robin Cottage
St Catherine's Island & Fort, Tenby
Carreg Cennen Castle with its underground tunnel & tea rooms offers something for everyone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ring_newb...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage perfect for dogs”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a superb week we had in this amazing place! The cottage was more than we could have hoped for; enclosed rear which offers plenty of privacy and also a bit of a suntrap. The cottage had all the facilities we could have wanted; hot-tub, BBQ, table / chairs and grassed / slate area at the rear. The dog treats / water bowls / Bara Brith / apple juice as well as milk in the fridge was a nice surprise.

We have really enjoyed exploring the local area, the weather was fantastic, just like summer! Highly recommend Carreg Cennen Castle, stunning scenery and challenging local walks around the castle, enough to tire out 2 hyperactive dogs!

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, many thanks to Mary & Shaun for everything, recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our dog friendly Owl Cottage, we specifically allocated Owl Cottage out of our 5 cottages to be dog friendly so we could provide a private fenced garden for the dogs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
“Owl cottage AMAZING must visit!! 😁”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect for couples, families and elderly.

On arrival we were greeted by Shaun and Mary. They made us feel welcome from the beginning and showed us around. The cottage has everything you need but if you did need anything Mary and Shaun would help you out. The private garden was a bonus on this cottage as well as patio area and hot tub which we used daily even in the rain.

Perfect location to visit attractions in South and west wales. Plenty of local pubs serving amazing home made food. Carreg cennen castle is a mere 10 minute drive.
Llandeilo town centre has an amazing chocolate shop, you must visit. It's called heavenly. There's too much to list I will be here all day.
We will be returning to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Brilliant that you enjoyed your holiday! We look forward to seeing you again soon, next time you come the outdoor play area should be finished and I'm sure your son will enjoy it. Also, the laundry room will be complete soon and will be fully equipped.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellyanne...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Straight from our arrival Mary made us feel very welcome and knew all about local walks and places to go. Robin Cottage was the perfect accommodation in the most beautiful setting. From the Barra Brith and home made orange juice to the coal and matches with the barbecue, every last little detail was thought of. We really couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views and the hot tub!
Liked least: That there wasn't more Barra Brith!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We really do want all of our guests to have a fantastic holiday and we love providing those extra touches to make it so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in idyllic location”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I and our two children (aged 9 & 12) stayed in Robin Cottage at Maesydderwen holiday cottages during the May 2015 half term holidays. The cottage itself is one of several that have been refurbished to a very high standard and really do come fully equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday, including free wifi and even torches for the tunnel at Carreg Cennen Castle. We had a very warm welcome from our hosts including delicious freshly made homemade bara brith cake with salted butter and freshly bottled local apple juice - there was even fresh milk for a refreshing brew after a long journey :)

The cottages themselves are in a beautiful and peaceful location but there's lots to do and see locally and we spent our days out and about and evenings relaxing outside in the hot tub (while the kids made full use of the wifi!). Carreg Cennen Castle is only three miles away and has to be our favourite with its fantastic views and underground cave tunnel to explore. Llandeilo itself (the nearest town - 5 min drive) is a pretty little town with cafe's, deli's and even an ice-cream parlour. The local butcher does a fantastic range of speciality sausages for your morning breakfast! It's only 30 minutes to the coast and some truely fantastic beaches and we took the bikes down to Llanelli for a ride along the traffic free Millennium coastal path. There's lots that we didn't get round to and we'll definitely be returning in the future to relax and explore some more ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay - we agree Carreg Cennen Castle is magnificent! There is still lots for you to explore and we look forward to seeing you again. The games room and children's outdoor play area will be completed by then as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing