We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising walk in the middle of town”

Skipton Castle Woods
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Woodland Trust invites everyone to enjoy Skipton Castle Woods, a 36 acre ancient woodland in the heart of Skipton town centre. Skipton Castle Woods in North Yorkshire is a place to enjoy space, peace and wildlife along a river valley featuring Springs Canal and Eller Beck. Visitors are welcome at Skipton Castle Woods with free woodland access 365 days a year.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The gardens were a lovely surprise on visiting Skipton. There a a few trails but we stuck to the main path. Dog friendly and lots of mud patches for kids on a wet Easter weekend.

Thank Tilly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitorOfficer, The Woodland Trust at Skipton Castle Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your walk in Skipton Castle Woods - the weather over Easter was a little challenging!

If you would like to know more about the work of the Woodland Trust and the events we host at this woodland, please visit our website.

Thanks again,

The Woodland Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild garlic"
in 26 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 19 reviews
"skipton castle"
in 17 reviews
"dog walkers"
in 5 reviews
"afternoon stroll"
in 3 reviews
"wild flowers"
in 5 reviews
"main path"
in 4 reviews
"a stones throw"
in 2 reviews
"birds singing"
in 2 reviews
"busy town"
in 3 reviews
"gentle walk"
in 2 reviews
"follow the path"
in 2 reviews
"lovely woodland"
in 3 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 3 reviews
"tranquil place"
in 2 reviews
"water features"
in 2 reviews
"pie shop"
in 2 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at a Sykes Cottage on the entrance to the woods, what a lovely peaceful retreat. The woods were beautiful, the waterfalls were stunning. Planned out walks for all abilities.

Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitorOfficer, The Woodland Trust at Skipton Castle Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your walk in Skipton Castle Woods and stay in Skipton.

If you would like to know more about the work of the Woodland Trust and the events we host at this woodland, please visit our website.

Thanks again,

The Woodland Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My partner and I came here whilst visiting Skipton again. The last time we visited the castle this time we decided to do the woodland walk, I'm so glad we did. I personally loved the different types of water features that were available to witness in such a compact area. This gave views of the castle a different prospective from the views from within the castle itself. The central path is a great touch to enjoy this. I thoughly recommend this walk whilst your on a visit here, and I believe the time of year unimportant as this certainly a place of beauty whatever season you visit. We will be coming again, this time we walk through in opposite direction.
Congratulations to all that care for these lovely woods.

2  Thank olimpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitorOfficer, The Woodland Trust at Skipton Castle Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your walk in Skipton Castle Woods, there is always something different to see each season.

If you would like to know more about the work of the Woodland Trust and the events we host at this woodland, please visit our website.

Thanks again,

The Woodland Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Peaceful walk in the dappled sunlight. Curious leftovers from the industrial revolution. A unique view of the castle. Path is a little muddy but ok with a decent pushchair if you have young ones. To do a full loop round the castle there are some stairs.

1  Thank Becquerel235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitorOfficer, The Woodland Trust at Skipton Castle Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review Skipton Castle Woods

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the woodland.

We are working hard to stabilise paths across the woodland and hope you will find them less muddy on a return visit.

If you would like to know more about our work including volunteering opportunities, membership or making a donation towards the upkeep of woods like Skipton, please visit our website for more information.

Thanks again, The Woodland Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Four of us did this during the half term. The snowdrops were out and the sun was peeking through the trees. Unfortunately due to recent rain it was a bit too muddy to walk the upper part of the route but that's a good excuse to return. Definitely recommend you do this if you're a visitor to Skipton.

Thank Mairi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitorOfficer, The Woodland Trust at Skipton Castle Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review Skipton Castle Woods

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the woodland.

We are working hard to stabilise paths across the woodland and hope you will find them less muddy on a return visit.

If you would like to know more about our work including volunteering opportunities, membership or making a donation towards the upkeep of woods like Skipton, please visit our website for more information.

Thanks again, The Woodland Trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipton Castle Woods also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skipton Castle Woods? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing