We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We could only have a bar meal as the restaurant was fully booked.
The bar menu was excellent, we opted for Fish & Chips - cooked to perfection! Attentive waitress and bar staff. Excellent wine list as you would expect from the Master of Wine owner.
Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MalcolmD966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Thank you Malcolm - the lounge/bar/patio side of our business are just as important to us as our restaurant, so it's great to hear you had a good time.

I hope we can welcome you again to The Old Bridge soon.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2021

Visited for dinner with family the day after indoor dining was reopened in May 2021.

From the time we arrived it was a very welcoming experience. We had a table booked and intended to have pre dinner drinks in the bar. We were met and taken to the bar and everything felt covid safe. Friendly staff, lovely cocktails and drinks before going through to the dining room. Noted that staff were giving a friendly reminder to wear a mask when moving around and going to the toilets, which I thought was excellent and effective.

Shown to the dining room and received excellent service from the waiters all the way through the meal. Wide selection of food which was delicious.

I highly recommend the Old Bridge and when we visit family in Huntington next, we will most definitely be paying another visit.

Well done all the team! You worked so well serving whilst following the the constraints of Covid guidelines.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justice_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Thanks so much 'Justice-View'. It's great to be back in business at last and it's great to get such a positive review so quickly from yourself.

Look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020

Those of you booked in for Christmas Day at the Old Bridge are in for a treat. We have just had their turkey Sunday roast and it was delicious. They were kind enough to add a Yorkshire pudding for us too! Smoked mackerel pate and passion fruit tart was also amazing. Staff were so welcoming and were in great spirits. It was a lovely atmosphere in there today. Thanks Old Bridge - we’ll see you again next year.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LSTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Thanks LSTravel - that's a real boost for all the team in this most difficult of times.

Best wishes for Christmas.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Wife and I took the opportunity to get out for a meal between lockdowns and choose the Bridge for the occasion. We've been there a few times over the years and the last time we were there (a few years ago) I recall it being a bit white and clinical. Now however it was more rustic and welcoming.

The food was excellent. I had ox cheeks to start and then lamb rack. Both really flavoursome and cooked to perfection (lamb is served pink unless you ask otherwise - and why would you!).

Wife went the full seafood and had four massive prawns with samphire followed by sea trout. Again both hit the spot.

Service was also spot on and COVID-19 measures were very evident.

There's cheaper places to eat out in Huntingdon and area but the Bridge always feels a bit special and is well worth the slight premium over pub grub.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vindalo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2020

What a kind and wonderful review Vindalo, thank you so much.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Best wishes.

John Hoskins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Dinner out for the first time since the last lockdown ended, and at the end of another long week at work. Lovely welcoming, friendly and COVID secure. Delicious food, piping hot and good portions (without being too much). We had bread and olives to nibble on, both lovely. Then starters were the "Grilled whole king prawns (in the shell) with samphire and garlic butter" (though I opted for no shell just to save the mess I'd normally make!) and "Braised beef cheek with Swiss chard and celeriac & horseradish remoulade ". We followed this with the "Fillet of sea trout, lightly cooked, with caramelised salsify, samphire, new potatoes, brown shrimps, capers, cream and white wine and "Rack of Lamb, rosemary potato cake, leek & spinach purée, oyster mushroom, broccoli and mint salsa". Now just need to work out how soon I can persuade my husband that we need to return!

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilderspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2020

Thank you Wilderspin, that's very good of you to take the time to write up your experience, and in such favourable terms. Tier 2 restrictions have been pretty devastating for the business post lockdown, so we will take any excuse to celebrate we can - and you have certainly helped enormously.

Best wishes.

John Hoskins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.