We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It was our first trip to the Maldives and the standard has been set real high. The island is extremely beautiful (the reef around it, the lagoon, etc). Our room, a water villa, had everything we needed and more (including a DVD player or an Iphone compatible stereo system). The food was great and the staff friendly and helpful. The all inclusive package (which includes almost everything but regretably not wifi) makes this a great deal. All in all, a great option to enjoy what Maldives has to offer, which is a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BGR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,277
    576
    130
    32
    20
See reviews for
472
2,171
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband came here in July 2011 for 2weeks... Absolutely amazing. The sea plane was excellent getting us to the resort, we went into their own private lounge which we had free drinks and wifi whilst waiting for the sea plane.upon arrival we were give nice cold refreshing drinks and cold towels. The check in was painless only took appx 10 mins then I was snorkelling in the sea, the coral is amazing especially near the over water bungalows facing the infinity pool. The meals are great lovely presented and always replenish nothing is stood there for so long.

The Asian wok is great in the evening for watching the sharks.

We went on a few trips which are reasonable, whale shark trip and the manta ray are brilliant saw/swam with both this is a must.

The only negative is nothing at all to do with the hotel, but with the airline - Thompson have stopped flying from Manchester to the Maldives - only from Gatwick,, which was great as it was a direct flight.... looks like Emirates from now on will have my business to go to the Maldives

Brilliant hotel ;)

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Missy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This island has everything. Good standard rooms, all price points of accommodation exceptional food, good full board or A/I package, soft sandy beaches, superb house reef, your own sun bed waiting for you wherever you select, fantastic hard working staff, clean and safe.

I could go on...

Absolutely recommend jacuzzi beach villa or jwv, this puts you in Ahima restaurant, smaller, cooler and first rate position and gets you out of location lottery as all rooms have a good pitch.
All guests very happy with the larger restaurant and their rooms too but I like A Better guarantee after a 10 hour flight!

Both visits have been 11 nights BA flights, very well handled by all and when we left the island for our return flight which was due to leave 35 minutes after the Thomson flight, we left over two and half hours later than the Thomson guests and our aircraft sill took off before them and we were ahead of them in customs line!

The reef tide normally goes from water villas back along the reef, so swim or wade to end of villas and then just float home, the easiest most pleasant snorkelling ever. Jetty side being the clearer visibility.

They provide good shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap, so please restrict what you take and take home your empties if possible. They just have no land to land fill?!,

Also please help the island to police the reef, some guests are so disrespectful. No reef, no life, no fish, no food, no tourist,,it is that simple.

Vilamendhoo is exceptional value and a good sound happy place. Yes you can pay two or three times more, but you will not get that much better.

Spa is amazing with an open view to sea, great Dive centre and some excursions if needed. The staff play football daily and the guests verses staff match every Sunday is a good event.

Our pick of JBV is nos 213 to 216 right next to water sports, kayaks, windsurfers etc. Close to bar and restaurant and pool, great close beach, sunset, and some activities to people watch, we love it just there.

Stop looking, just book it.
Any questions happy to answer, happy hols!

Room Tip: JBV or JWV rooms guarantee a good sandy beach and the smaller and cooler Ahima restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was our second island we stayed on (Meeru first). We enjoyed this experience - the seaplane transport - the friendly staff (have to make mention Robin and Joyclyn from Bonthi Bar for their great service and friendliness) - great food.
Although this island is small, you never feel as if there are many people about - you almost feel you have your own piece of paradise.
If I could make one recommendation to the hotel - put more tvs with sport on in the Bonthi bar! :-)
For divers you need to do the Whale Shark excursion - OMG !! Fantastic!!

Great island resort that I hope to return to.....

Room Tip: We stayed in JBV (203) - no sun on your deck, but 10m from your door is a beautiful long white beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TMAguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Just back from our 2nd stay on Vila. We chose the JWV on AI again. We preferred the adults only end and had a very relaxing time. Weather mostly good for the wet season. We requested a JWV close to the one we had previously and they gave us the one next door. Did notice a few things compared to our 1st visit in March 2011. They now bottle their own drinking water and we arranged a half hour "back of house" tour with Peter the engineering manager. This was extremely informative about the water treatment and  bottling as well as kitchens, laundry, recycling, generators etc. There are more signs around the island and notices in the room regarding respecting the reef environment. The staff were also taking part in safety & rescue training whilst we were there. We had one niggle, concerning the servicing of our room, but we only had to mention this to the guest relations (Sabine) and the problem was sorted immediately. We went to the spa on 3 occasions - our 3rd visit wasn't quite as good as the rest. The food choice and quality was excellent. The reef is amazing, so close in to the beach and right in front of our JWV (307). We would return to the JWVs but looking for a smaller island next time that can live up to Vila's reef.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamendhoo
8.7 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
881 reviews
37.9 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,024 reviews
23.1 km away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,884 reviews
26.2 km away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,125 reviews
24.1 km away
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Property: Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Address: Vilamendhoo Island, 20187
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,486 - ₹ 67,299
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi water villas, 30 Jacuzzi beach villas, 111 beach villas and 13 garden rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing