We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great Northumberland retreat, just 10 minutes...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Juniper, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alex H
Westbury-sub-Mendip, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A great Northumberland retreat, just 10 minutes from Hexham.”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A lovely cosy place to relax, it's spacious and well setup with everything you need. Looks great in the snow, and so cosy with the stove going.
Thanks Catherine for a great stay, and for the cakes too!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Thanks so much for your review Alex. It was a cold and snowy scene at Finechambers but I’m pleased the new heaters and wood burner helped to make it an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suegan52
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our family met up at Finechambers to spend New Year together & we weren't disappointed. The renovated Chapel has lots of character, is spacious, well equipped with lovely furnishings and the bedrooms are all good sizes. It was pretty cold while we were there but the wood burner & radiators kept it all nice & cosy. Its in a lovely country spot, very peaceful & quiet and we just had a lovely time there.
Thanks Catherine for the lemon cake and flapjacks - they didn't last long!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Delighted you had a fun family get together at Finechambers. It’s always fun decorating the chapel for Christmas and New Year, and glad it was warm and cosy despite the low winter temperatures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdeebs
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect for our wedding.”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for our wedding at Healey Barn. I stayed the night before with one of my bridesmaids and then my husband joined me for the next two nights. The cottage is lovely and I loved the fire. I could just live there! It was good because it had the two bedrooms plus the double bed on the mezzanine so I could have people with me the night before and the price was better than staying in a hotel.

Catherine was wonderful and left us fresh hens eggs, flapjacks and chocolate cake when we arrived. She also came over to set the fire on the evening of the wedding so that we would be warm when we got in from the wedding.

Such a beautiful place and in a lovely quiet area.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you for a lovely review Sarah. I’m so glad the chapel worked well for your wedding weekend. Quite a few wedding days have started at the chapel now! Plenty of space downstairs for hair and makeup stylists, photographers and bridesmaids not to mention a great balcony to hang wedding and bridesmaid dresses from!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitleyBa...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This beautiful countryside chapel conversion has a gorgeous garden, ample parking and it's only a short drive from Hexham. The owners go the extra mile to ensure guests needs are thoroughly met. Upon arrival the fuel burner was already lit, home baked cakes were waiting on the kitchen counter and there freshly cut flowers on the coffee table. The open plan layout, large dining table, comfy sofas and well stocked kitchen were all perfect for our girls weekend away! We didn't want to leave this cosy haven and we are already planning our return next year. This rental is a real gem, thank you Catherine and David.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your review. Glad your weekend was fun. Please do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimRedden
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Location, Fantastic Facilities”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Finechambers is an absolute must for anyone wanting to enjoy the peace and beauty of the rugged Northumberland countryside. Nestled on the edge of a small hamlet, the property is a short drive from one of the most iconic pieces of history: Hadrian's Wall.

There a plenty of routes for keen ramblers to explore and Catherine, the owner, was on hand to give advice before we set out to journey around the area.

A short drive from Finechambers is Hexham - a medium-size town with supermarkets, fuel stations, cafes, restaurants, etc. Newcastle is about 20 miles away; another easy drive if you want to experience the toon.

The service and facilities at Finechambers put my own humble house to shame! My partner and I were astounded to find that Catherine had, in our opinion, catered for just about every eventuality. I'm a ground coffee fan and was delighted to see a huge selection of French presses and cafetières on the kitchen window ledge.

A log burner dominates the living room and it became to the focal point of our evenings. I honestly can't think of anything more a holiday destination could offer.

We highly recommend this holiday destination.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for giving the chapel a great review James. We're so glad you all had a good week at Finechambers and enjoyed the large, new and efficient wood burner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing