We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
261
175
40
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
175
40
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st austell brewery pub grub superior room beer garden premier inn good size air conditioning peas family meal car park free wifi large room busy road lovely hotel main road truro area great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Reception was very welcoming, which was great. Room fine - quite large and certainly clean. But a bit tired and in need of some modernisation. Shower was excellent and this always makes me smile, so full marks there. We found breakfast a bit disappointing though perhaps at the price (£9) it was OK. Poor quality muesli, yesterdays croissants, not the best sausage. So we only had breakfast on one day and went out for the second day.
Didn't try the restaurant in the evening as we were out and about,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly. We do hope to see you back here at The County Arms very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Having had a flight cancelled we decided to drive to the hotel- a 5 hours journey!

The greeting was most welcome and the stay comfortable. Room spotless, bed was superb and a hospitable team. There is charging for hybrid/ electric vehicles and the location was convenient.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank H67bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for your 5* review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed at the County Arms for 2 nights during the August bank holiday.

Room: Very Clean & spacious. We stayed on the 1st floor where we had a very beautiful valley view from the window. The king size bed was made up of 2 single bed bases. The mattress was a bit too soft to my liking but was still comfortable. The interior of the room was simple, it looked a bit too empty and could be a bit more comfortable. For example, I'd prefer a little sofa in the room rather than a small uncomfortable chair. I'd also prefer a bigger TV for this big room as well. The shower room was small (there was no bath) and the toilet bowl was too close to the wall, i.e. one of your leg would push to the wall when you sit on the toilet bowl.

Staff: staffs at reception were polite and attentive. We felt welcomed from the seconds we walked through the door. Every time we walked pass the reception, they always greeted us and their customer service was fabulous. During the 2nd day, we noticed the shower gel & shampoo bottles were not replaced by housekeeping staff so I reported to the reception. Within 3 minutes, the staff brought them to my room. Very efficient!

Location: In my opinion, it's in a perfect location and it was the main reason why I chose County Arms. The hotel is siting on the main road A390. It took 3 minutes drive to Truro town centre, 45mins to Eden Project and 45mins to The Land's End and Minack Theatre. Some people may not like it as it is not near to any Cornwall coasts but then, it also means you don't need to driving through those countryside scary-narrow roads to reach the hotel because it is on an A road.

Car park: There are 3 levels in the car park and plenty of spaces. There is no additional charge for parking for hotel residents.

Breakfast: The buffet breakfast cost £8.50 and it was at the County Arms pub next door. The food was good, it has a variety of English and continental breakfasts. I found the food quality was quite decent as it was much better than many cafes. However, many plates were not cleaned and many of the new plates still had the uncleaned food on them.

Others: The hotel is next to the county arms pub and it has a very beautiful yard/ garden at the back. I particularly enjoyed sitting out at this outdoor area, having a pint & looking over the beautiful valley in the sunset.

The only downside of our stays was the fact that we didn't realise we were charged for the breakfast. We didn't know we were actually being charged more than the actual invoice when we booked via Expedia. We were fortunate that we decided to have breakfast on the next day and were told by the receptionist that we had already paid for the breakfast. I think the breakfast worth every penny but was not happy that I was being charged more than the Expedia invoice.

Highly recommended to anyone who visit Cornwall.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor and asks to stay away from the pub, as it might get noisy at night
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Snowball23514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I would like to say thank you to Karina on reception for making a really good stay even better. Excellent customer service so friendly polite & helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank randrfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my nan visited The County Arms for lunch the food taste delicious and also had pudding that was also lovely very good size meals definitely do go away still hungry, the staff were very friendly and happy I will defiantly visit again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Zos_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews