We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unprecidented joy”
Review of Chycara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chycara House
Ranked #2 of 19 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This has to be Cornwalls best kept secret. A b&b where you can have a pleasant swim or sauna or simply wander somewhere remote( yet only four miles from bustling Truro).
Both Linda & David excell in giving a warm welcome to there beautiful home. You feel like one of the family as you sit round the breakfast table, as the food is brought to you. Even in the evening tea or coffee is served either indoors or their delightful patteo. We are so very pleased we managed to get in. Sadly we could only do three days here this time ,but have prommissed ourselves we must get back . There are a couple of places to eat at, or places to visit nearby. Another lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Chycara House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived on 10th July 2011 late afternoon. As our caption above reads we found Chycara poetic, peaceful, charming and with both host and hostess exceptionally obliging in all we required. Excellent service and meals ensured we stayed an additional day and night. Our Sincere Thanks to David and Linda with our appreciation expressed in this poem. "Chycara"

"Chycara"
David and Linda, you touched both our hearts
At your haven near Truro, oh, where do we start?

We start at “Chycara” down Cornwall way
Where a magic is made at the close of the day;
To walk through your woods, we found was a must,
With Mother Nature nurturing all she would trust.

Revealing her presence, essentially the essence
Of a peace near sacred, a simple transcendence
Transforming spirits so spent by the fray
So fraught with deeds deemed urgent each day.

Comforting our souls, silently, with care,
As leaf laden boughs caress the still air;
With barely a movement mauve colours cascade
From flowers ensuring more magic is made.

To pause and to listen; for us it did seem
Our minds became mindful of a new wistful dream;
For dancing in gold in deep glistening glades
Were white spotted deer dappled by shades

Of shimmering sunlight flickering through branches,
Enhancing dark contrasts challenging our chances
Of spying two badgers outside their sett;
And scarcely moving, for there’s more for us yet.

Small squirrels scamper scurrying up trees;
Alert white tailed rabbits seek scent on the breeze;
And birds twitter quietly as darkness descends
Still gurgling the brook babbles a peace which transcends
Nature so green to your “Chycara” serene!

“Chycara” … Doug Morris 10072011 © All Rights Reserved July 2011


In July of 2011 Doug and Gina from Australia toured Southwest England.
They stayed two days and nights in the magical haven of “Chycara”
near Truro, Cornwall, United Kingdom. Both Doug and Gina found their stay to be delightful, with hosts David and Linda warm and welcoming. “Chycara” inspired the Poem above.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doug m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here in September when it was my birthday, there were lots of us and we managed to secure two cottages which over looiked the grounds and an adylic lake. We had a fab stay, we used all the facilities incluing the hot tub and the inddor heated pool, everything was really nice and clean and the owners were very welcoming! Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Chycara House isn't a B&B like most of the others. This is much more. We booked the Garden Lodge and we got nearly a complete house with all facilities you can imagine. Welcome was warm. And then we went trough the garden ... It is really a pleasure to walk around and each time we came back to the lodge we said "isn't this amazing". We had to look for our breakfast ourselves, but this wasn't really a disadvantange. There is a Spar not far from the B&B and the lodge offers a complete kitchen. We enjoyed the swimming pool. Thanks a lot for everything, Linda and David. We can strongly recommend your B&B! And of course we hope coming back on our next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in the House for B/B. Accommodation was very comfortable and homely. The welcome was warm and inviting. Nothing was too much trouble in order to put us at ease.
Breakfast was of a high quality offering a range of options. The grounds are superb to wander around and to just sit and muse. We loved the setting and will return. It was well placed for comparatively short trips to most of the popular holiday spots. After a day out it was always refreshing to return to Chycara.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barmar023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
6.1 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
4.3 km away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
4.8 km away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
586 reviews
9.4 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
199 reviews
7.1 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 19 in Truro
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chycara House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chycara House

Address: Chycara House Quenchwell | Carnon Downs, Truro TR3 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: ₹ 6,107 - ₹ 10,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chycara House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chycara offers bed & breakfast and self catering lodges, with extensive leisure facilities, which include an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and tennis court. This beautiful country house is set in 16 acres of outstanding picturesque gardens and woodland, this is an oasis in which to relax. Our aim is to make guests feel they're staying in a friend's house by creating a comfortable and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Chycara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chycara House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing