We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
The Main Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Main Bedroom
A lovely large Maltese Oak dining table perfect if you have guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Main Bedroom
A lovely large Maltese Oak dining table perfect if you have guests.
The Bathroom.
Enjoy the sound of my LP collection in the dining room.
A large and fully equipped kitchen overlooking the gardens.
The lovely view from the Bedroom Balcony.
The view of the old Maltese houses from the Bedroom Balcony.
Relax on the Bedroom Balchony and enjoy the view.
The View from the Roof
The View from the Roof
San Anton Gardens - Just 5 minutes walk from the Apartment
San Anton Gardens - Just 5 minutes walk from the Apartment
Saint Helen's Feast (Which you can watch from the balchony)
Birkirkara's Main Church
View from the Roof
Chapel In Birkirkara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Birkirkara, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
moodswing...
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything about the apartment! Lovely interiors and has everything you'll need for your holiday. Birkirkara is very central but not touristy at all. It's easy to take the bus to wherever you need to get to. The apartment is a short walk from the supermarket and a place that sells produce, which was great because we really liked cooking in the kitchen. Mark was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Ann...
Lahug, Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unassuming but can deliver”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were a family of 3 adults who stayed in Mark’s apartment for six (6) nights. My son, the 3rd person, was given a camp bed and was allowed to situate himself in any part of the house according to his own taste and preference.
15 Nov – 21 Nov 2014

A great plus for this place:

1/ Wifi is very fast. Running at a download rate of 30 Mbps, if you would like to keep tabs. I doubt if there is any airbnb in Birkirkara who could equal this speed. Mark is on fibre optic connection. There are many electrical outlets situated all over the apartment. Your choice is for the asking. No problem in that.

2/ Location and Accessibility: a 2-minute walk to the nearest bus stop to the north of the island and to the capital, Valletta. Conveniently located to the nearest pharmacy and mini- sweet shop at the back. It is a place to be if you would like to reach out to local amenities namely, Post Office, churches- 2 of them at its nearest, HSBC just across the road for your currency needs, local commercial shops, fast foods such as Mc Donald’s, cafes - one at a stone’s throw away from the Apartment on the same side of the road and the other just a 4-minute walk down Valley Road next to Mc Donald’s for a real Maltese treat,

3/ Amenities: modestly-stocked kitchen cupboard to include a couple of bottles of mineral water, gas lighter, pasta, small bottle of olive oil, breakfast cereals to get the guests by for a night or two.

4/ Mood and Ambiance: The house exudes a feeling of being at home on a foreign land. With objects of art – stone book-ends, paintings on display, an old camera set on an old SINGER sewing machine, an old converted letterbox Mark used to store herbs and seasonings next to the kitchen sink, old windows that overlook an internal garden in the interior part of the house, a typical spacious Maltese home with patterned tile flooring – all of these are constant reminders that one takes on the experience of what is like to live in a traditional Maltese home. Of course, do take time to listen to an old LP with a stack of records to choose from to suit your mood. This simply adds to that experience! It is worth your while.

4/ Host: Mark is a charming 29- year old host. Young and very forward- looking. He gave us a briefing at the start of the stay and spent time to make us feel at ease. He went out of his way to meet our needs and took time to send an SMS on our last evening to inform us that he was ‘pleased to have served you.’ That concerned gesture puts him on competitive edge.

5/ Assurance and Confidence: The Apartment is duly- licensed and approved by the Malta Tourism Authority. Who would have second thoughts staying in Mark’s Apartment?

Downside:

1/ Newly converted bath needs a do-up. ( By the way, there are 2 baths). Water from the bath shower tends to flow away from the drain and looks messy once the shower ritual is done.

2/ The Apartment is on the 1st floor. There will be a few steps to contend with . I must say, the steps are quite comfortable to climb, though, however, for the elderly, this might be a slight consideration.

3/ Lighting on the stairway might have fallen short of our expectations. Increased wattage would perhaps be better.

4/ As our first night spent in the Apartment was on a Saturday, vehicular traffic was busier than usual. The noise of the traffic might prove to be a little bit annoying as passing cars rushed for their night out. The road quietened as the night progressed. Generally, Maltese roads are not as busy as the noise brought about by huge cities. The Saturday vehicular traffic is definitely tolerable. No doubt about that.

Great Value for Money. Very clean. Secure. Supra-fast internet. Sensible Host.
This airbnb is ahead of the pack!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host is young, hence, forward-looking and sensible.
Liked least: Bathroom number 2 area could be messy especially when it gets wet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paklfjksb...
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment in great location”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was a lovely first floor apartment in central Malta. Parking was no problem and the bus service excellent.
The furnishings are simple but comfortable and the balcony and roof terrace were a treat.
Mark was a great host - always helpful but never intrusive.
Would I go again? Yes

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved that at the end of a day of exploring different cities in Malta, we were excited to go home to our comfortable and cute flat!
Liked least: The sheets on the bed were not in great condition and the kitchen pots and pans have had a lot of use. Those could be updated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
erenakali...
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The apartment is so very lovely and beautifully decorated. A very unique and authentic experience of Malta. It was much bigger than we expected, the photos can't do justice to the overall open feeling of it.
There is a lovely garden on the back side of the building, and you can see the trees and hear the birds while sitting in the living room or taking shower.
Mark made sure that we were comfortable. The apartment was clean, neat and had everything we needed for our 5 day stay.
The bus stop is just a few steps down the road. Valetta is only 15 minutes away.
We had an amazing experience in Malta thanks to Mark. We would definitely would want go back to Malta, and if we do so we would surely would want to stay in this apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the neighborhood
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing