We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable warm cottage in nice walking location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sparth Cottage

Sparth Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sparth Cottage
Sparth Cottage by Sparth Reservoir. Living Room with wood burner and wide selection of DVDs, books and games.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Sparth Cottage
Sparth Cottage by Sparth Reservoir.
Living Room with wood burner and wide selection of DVDs, books and games.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Main Bedroom with double bed and memory foam mattress.
View from the main bedroom.
The dining area in the living room- high chair also available.
Sparth Cottage and surrounding countryside.
Second bedroom with bunk beds and cot.
Private area in front of cottage with seating and popular bird feeder.
Parking spaces for 2 cars.
Bathroom with shower over bath.
Sparth Cottage from the canal lock.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marsden, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicpea27
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable warm cottage in nice walking location”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just got back from a lovely week in this cottage. Prior to going we looked at the weather forecast and saw rain, cold and gales but any worries about this weren't justified as the cottage is warm and comfortable so not a problem if your limited in your outside time.

It has an excellent equipped kitchen, selection of books, games and DVD's, very hot water and a comfortable double bed. My only slight gripe would be the shower head which is rather odd and very small. BUt otherwise perfect, a lovely short walk along the canal into teh village where there is nice pubs, restuarnats and take away facilities. Plus on the internet you can find some fantatsic circular walks some of which pass teh cottage and lead you along country walled roads, up onto moors and round reserviors. Its beautiful round there. Plus keep your eyes out for king fishers - we saw two during our stay and i wasn;t really looking for them!

Nearby there is a great train link into Manchester (walking distance to the station) and the village of Holmfirth where 'Last of the summer wine' was filmed with some lovely places for lunch. We also drove a bit further and walked around the grounds of a large property where Emmerdale is filmed and you can see some of the set and the cast (we saw two of them).

A great comfortable location and recommebded in any weather, especially if you have a dog. She loved laying in front fo the fire after a long wet walk and there is a small enclosed front garden for toileting. Its very quiet there with only the occasional car going past and the fishermen at the weekend. Plus bizarely the peopel practising open water swimming in the reservior dragging round orange life bouys - took us some time to work out what on earth it was moving in the water baring in mind its winter - i wondered if i had seen Nessie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was excellent - close to facilities but also in a quiet countryside area with good walks
Liked least: the shower head is too small and hard to keep warm under even though there is lashings of hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Re your comment on the shower head- I wasn't that keen on it either! We have now fitted a new, "traditional" style shower, which has also improved the water pressure
Thanks
Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takemyadv...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and cozy”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We've stayed at Sparth Cottage twice, both times in winter. (I won't tell you why because I don't want a lot of competition for the cottage on that particular weekend!) We love it because it has a homey feel, is warm and snug, the hot water heater works great, the kitchen is well equipped, the TV works easily, there are loads of good books and DVDs to keep you entertained in the evenings and everything is fresh and clean. The cottage is located a short walk from Marsden town centre and the train station. It's a wonderful place for a cozy winter weekend away. I bet its absolutely beautiful in summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: It might have been a tad pricey for one night's stay off peak season.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutandAbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and beautifully equipped cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Had a fabulous three day break at Sparth Cottage. Despite an awful 8 hour journey on arrival we were delighted to find a very cosy cottage waiting for us. Tea, coffee and mince pies were waiting for us along with Christmas decorations. Fortunately we remembered to pick up some milk on the way. The sitting room was very comfortable and the photos do not do it justice - it is much bigger and we were able to seat 9 family members around the table for a full dinner. The kitchen has everything you need and more. Bedrooms were perfect and beds very comfortable.

In the morning we awoke to an amazing view. A perfect start to the day. The dog loved the walks and meeting the friendly locals.

We were very sorry that our trip was so short but definitely will be back in the Spring.

Even though we are non smokers we would recommend Sparth Cottage.

Thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHMiskin
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable cottage in great location.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is the second time we had stayed at Sparth Cottage. The location is great; we enjoyed lovely walks along the canal tow path, and the property is sufficiently far away from the centre of Marsden and the main road to be very quiet and peaceful.
The cottage is certainly not luxurious, but is very comfortable, cosy (without being too small, even with two young children) and clean. The kitchen is well equipped, and we enjoyed the interesting selection of DVDs and books in the living room.
We really liked Marsden - a five minute walk away on a quiet road. It has the feel of a traditional small English town before the big retail chains took over. There are great independent food shops, cafes and pubs, and a river where the kids fed the ducks.
We would definitely stay again, and would recommend Sparth Cottage for a good value break in this lovely part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorenceK...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Attractive, clean and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Sparth Cottage has a lovely feel to it. Upstairs there is a good sized double room, a second bedroom with bunk beds, a toy chest (toys for toddlers to about 4 years) and children's books, and a small, clean bathroom. Enjoy the bath but don't rely on the shower: the water pressure struggles.

Downstairs there is a comfortable living room, with loads of books and board games, and a TV and DVD player with lots of DVDs. There is a lot of helpful tourist information, and a lot to do in the wider area, if you can tear yourself away from the books and films. The kitchen is comprehensively well equipped and there is a very swish coffee machine. You do need to use the dehumidifier in the kitchen. Damp is always going to be on the cards here. I would think twice about staying if I had serious asthma or similar - but otherwise, no problem.

Marsden is a lively village, about 10 minutes walk down the road or along the canal to the centre, passing about 10 locks - count 'em - in that short distance. All the shops you're likely to need, a couple of cafes, pubs and a playground.

There is a lot to keep you occupied but you will have a much easier time with a car than without.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thanks for the comments- we have now fitted a new shower head which has improved the water pressure
Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing