We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Ultimate Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Forge

Your Front Door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Front Door
On The Quay outside your door Julie putting the bottle of wine and scones on the table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Your Front Door
On The Quay outside your door
Julie putting the bottle of wine and scones on the table
Sitting area in the Forge
Your Bedroom with a Balcony view of the river
Blossoms on the Quay
Fishing at the bend of the river when the tide is out
Coffe at The Mullicháin Cafe open 11am -6pm
Rain Bow from your balcony
Now thats a fish cought 10 yards from your door
One of the many walks around the area
A day at the office, Top of the hill beside balnchfields Pub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
St Mullins, County Carlow

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimmy G
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite Retreat”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Forge for 3 nights and it had everything you would need for your stay apart from food. It was clean, well equipped and quiet even though you had people staying either side in the coach house and the stables. A nice touch is the bottle of wine and scones. You also pick up the wifi from the café in the forge, but phone reception is not the best. The owners run a café which opens from 11am to 6pm, but if you are looking for dinner you have to go to the local towns nearby and lots of details of what and where to eat can be found in the forge, that’s if you don’t bring your own. There is a small pub and shop at the top of the lane. We booked the forge as they are pet friendly and we wanted to take the dog away with us. There are lots of walks around the river and many places nearby to visit e.g. Newross, Wexford, Waterford and Carlow all lovely towns and worth a visit. If you enjoy fishing it is a lovely location with many places to pitch and many fish to catch.

The only negative I would give this, is the cost, which we found out about after the holiday. We booked through holiday lettings that charged us 300 euros for 3 nights, but we noticed at the location it stated that it costs 250 euros for 3 nights and we also noticed that it stated this on the owner’s website, which we found later. We queried this with holiday lettings and they stated that the owner asked for 100euros per night. I think the owner should either stop advertising different rates or update their website. On top of this you are asked to pay for heat & electric when you are leaving, which we did not know about through holiday lettings. Any houses I have booked the cost of heat & light was part of the cost and not an add-on.

Would I stay again? As the saying goes, once bitten? But apart from this the location is lovely for a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surronding location
Liked least: the costs for heat & light even though very small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry M
Jaipur, Indi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Hideaway”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were attending the Borris House Festival of writing and ideas and happened upon the Old Grain Store. Wow what a find!!

On the banks of the river Barrow in deepest County Carlow a beautiful, quiet, lovely one bedroomed two story gem. Complete with bottle of wine on arrival and fresh baked scones.

We stayed two nights for the Festival, wonderfully quiet, comfortable and very well appointed. Lots of nice places to see and good restaurants in the vicinity.

A definite yes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome from the owners
Liked least: nothing to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EimearBur...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in the Forge, part of the Mullichain Cafe and Old Grain cottages complex, for Easter weekend. The apartment is perfect for up to two adults and maybe one small child. It is split over two floors and you have access to a shared courtyard at the back. The hosts are very helpful and provided a bottle of wine and home-made scones to welcome us! We also borrowed one of their canoes for a wee paddle in the river. Only thing to remember is that that stretch of water is tidal so you have to plan your trip accordingly. Lovely walks in the area and very interesting history. For dinner, the family will provide you with some options but it may be difficult to find dinner out without booking (we got take away one night in New Ross). Wifi in the cafe can be picked up in the Forge but not very strong signal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: parking was limited at the accommodation but more along river
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam61
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great cafe alongside”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I confess that we've only ever stayed in the Forge self-catering cottage it had everything we needed. But best of all is the Mullican Café alongside , run by the owners of the Forge, Emer and Martin. She is a great cook and he is great craic - never a dull moment! Also the setting of both is perfect - stunning scenery, fishing, boating, swimming, cycling etc. in the beautiful, unspoilt River Barrow flowing alongside. The nearby 8thC monastic site and fully restored 13thCCistercian Abbey in Graignamanagh (8km) are extra attractions; as well as the old town of New Ross with its 18thC sailing ship "Dunbrody". The nearby villages of Inistioge and Thomastown are also worth a visit plus the lovely Mini-city of Kilkenny (35km).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cafe alongside, lovely scenery and tranquil location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We first came across this wonderful area of ireland while touring the east coast last summer We discovered the beautiful cottages beside the main renovated building and wanted to return so we stayed for the first 2 weeks of the year in the forge and it was wonderful, comfy, cosy, just perfect. The hosts were wonderful, full of advice about walking in the area which we loved doing. On reviendra, c´est certain !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosiness of the cottage & the beautiful surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2013
St Mullins is truly a Bit of heaven you will sleep in our Valley like you never slept before you can almost hear the silence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing